dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Whew!!! What a week it was…

on March 7, 2014

This week has both flown by and dragged on.  I know that technically it was the same amount of time as usual, but some days I have felt like they would never end and others it was midnight immediately after putting my feet on the floor.

I have done spring cleaning this week.  Not on purpose mind you.  It is cold and rainy outside.  After the beautiful weekend and getting the yard in shape, all I really wanted to do was sit and look outside knowing I had accomplished something.

Yesterday, we had a house inspection.  The property management company wanted to come and inspect this house before we continued our lease.  So, being the neurotic I am, I dove into cleaning this house.  This house that was filthy when we moved in a year ago.  This house that had been neglected and was covered in grime and dirt.  This house that had dried dog ‘stuff’ lodged on the floor in front of the fireplace.  Yes, this house.  This house that met our first glance when we needed to find a place quickly a year ago.  All the other things I just mentioned were truly noticed once the lease was signed.  Yes, I do think they saw hubby and I coming…

So, clean I did.  All the remnants of a year ago have been long gone.  The house has looked better since the day we moved our belongings here.  The floors have needed some love and so this week I gave them love.  They look so much better.  The fireplace looked like it has never been used, the house shined.  Hubby and I were pleased with the results.  We even broke down and finally unpacked his office area.  The house looks like a home.

The inspection was a laugh.  The inspector came in, looked briefly around and asked our opinion.  He was a nice man and I think he was a bit overwhelmed when hubby and I  told him our thoughts.  The poor man scribbled on his clipboard for the entire visit.

But, from all of this comes a clean house.  I have done my spring cleaning.  So, when spring finally comes, I can rest.  I am looking forward to that.

What I am really looking forward to after this week is tomorrow.  You see, my bag is packed and ready to go and I will be on my way to learn some more lessons from Little Man!  I will have a week with him to talk with him and visit and he will be able to teach me new things that he has learned.

So, after a full week of work, I get to go play.  I think that is payment indeed.   Thanks for stopping by DAF

8 responses to “Whew!!! What a week it was…

  1. I’m jealous that your Spring cleaning is done! Maybe I need to have company, that usually does it for me. Have a wonderful trip with Little Man, I can’t wait to hear about your adventures.

  2. You deserve some grandson time after all that. Have a lovely weekend. 🙂 x

  3. I loved this…could see you cleaning and scrubbing out of pride as opposed to fear. There’s something very Franciscan about cleaning…it clears away the mental cob webs…I just changed my sheets, a small act, and felt better. Your writing is clear and so, so visual, if you don’t mind me putting in my two cents…that’s all it’s worth anyway if that. Enjoy your grandson, the little sage.

  4. thanks, company always helps me get a start on the cleaning also. Good to hear from you!

  5. I am having a wonderful time. Thanks for checking in!

  6. He is so much fun! Thought of you this morning as we walked past Pan Quotidium here in Old town… he was showing me the ‘trolley bus’

  7. I’ll be waiting for all those essays you’re going to write with Little Man as your muse 🙂 Have a great time, you deserve it.

Let me know what you think!

