dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Home again, home again, jiggety-jig….

on September 30, 2013

Walking the dog this morning the nursery rhyme, “To Market, to market” came into my mind.  I remembered the past couple weeks of bouncing Little Man on my knees and repeating this rhyme to him.  The last line, home again, home again, jiggety-jig stuck in my mind.

It was a beautiful fall morning and my first thought was one of sadness of being home and back into the normal routine.  I stopped myself.

I was not going to be sad.   The morning was glorious with the crisp feel in the air and the bright autumn sun in the morning sky.

Plus, I had a delightful weekend.  Friday as I kissed Little Man good-bye and hugged and kissed my dear son-in-law good-bye, I started a short road trip with a friend from elementary school.

We talked ourselves hoarse on the trip from D.C. to Charleston.  We caught up on what was happening with my family and her family, all seven siblings.  We strolled down memory lane and talked about ‘bucket lists’.  This weekend we visited some beaches and went to The Taste of Charleston at a local plantation.   We ate for a few hours, literally.  The food was incredible, the weather divine, and the company was so enjoyable.  We checked something off my friend’s bucket list in going to the food event.

It was a fun weekend, and although I am missing my Little Man, I am content with the weekend I have had.  I am blessed with a friend from my childhood, that we have shared our lives together.  We remember the little stories and the big stories of each other’s life.  We added another chapter to our memory books and that is a wonderful thing to have happen.

046

Hubby and Friend walking back to the car from the beach

 

walking over a foot bridge from the parking lot to the event

walking over a foot bridge from the parking lot to the event

 

some of the food tents

some of the food tents

 

Ice Sculpture Demo

Ice Sculpture Demo

Thanks for stopping by…  DAF

 

 

 

6 responses to “Home again, home again, jiggety-jig….

  1. Kari Ann says:

    Lovely perspective and pictures :]

  2. thank you Kari! That means a lot to me coming from you!

  3. Sounds like you had a wonderful time away. It is only by coming home that you can truly appreciate and assimilate the away experiences.

  4. That sounds like such a great ride. There are times when little getaways like that really know how to fill your soul…and stomach. Glad you had such a joyful time!

  5. thank you…. it helped get me past the point of truly missing and crying about leaving my Little Man.

Let me know what you think!

