dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

When the clever escapes you

on June 8, 2013

Sometimes clever posts escape me.  I go about my week looking at everything with potential blog post eyes.  Sometimes little things happen and I know that what just happened will make great posts.  I love those opportunities.

The past couple days I have wanted to write.  My heart desire was to sit down and compose something, anything.  I signed onto my blog and just stared at it.  Nothing, absolutely nothing happened.  I clicked off and went back to other things.

I read a post last night about how we tend to write about outstanding things in our life.  We leave the mundane things alone.  It was an excellent post and it got me thinking.  As bloggers we tend to write about things that we think others will enjoy.  We want to entertain, minister to, and inspire others.  It is a noble cause for certain.  I know I am inspired by many of the blogs I read.

But, the clever has escaped me.  So, for today, a dose of my reality is what I write about.  It is humid here.  Tropical storm Andrea just went through.  The front yard is soggy, so is the back yard for that matter.   Walking the dog is a chore in this humidity, even he is balking at the heat.

I did a couple of loads of laundry today and even enjoyed folding it for a change.  I usually dislike the folding process.  But, today, it is all cleaned, folded and put away properly.

The dishwasher is the only noise in the background as I write this and hubby is researching routers online.

Nothing clever, nothing exciting, Just a glimpse into the ordinary-ness that besets us all.

I really, really hope that today has been more exciting for you.  Please comment and let me know that there is life beyond laundry and dishes!

I close thanking our Lord for the mundane though.  It is a gift from Him to us.  He gives us ordinary days as a blessing.  There is nothing major happening now.  We have a roof over our heads, food in our stomach, clothes to launder.  He has given us a day that is not exciting.  I think too often we forget that the ordinary is truly extraordinary.

Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your visit.  DAF

5 responses to “When the clever escapes you

  1. Momma E. says:

    I got to take some photos of some peonies with my mother. The bulbs are more than 75 years old and were originally my great-grandmothers. I avoided laundry, spent today doing some other light chores, shopping for art supplies with my youngest daughter, chatting on Facebook, photo editing, posting on my blog, and cuddling with my husband. Not a bad way to spend a Saturday. We got the rain over and done yesterday, thank goodness. Have a good one! Donna

  2. What a delightful day! The peonies are beautiful, I peeked at your post… will go back to look some more. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Hope you have another chance to cuddle tomorrow. Thanks again for stopping by. DAF

  3. Momma E. says:

    I’ll be back to your site too!!! Stay dry! D.

  4. Kari Ann says:

    Thanks for the reminder. This is a beautiful post.

  5. your post was the one that got me thinking of this post. Thank you for stopping by and for encouraging me with your words. I so appreciate you. DAF

Let me know what you think!

