dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Thinking on Disappointment…

on September 2, 2016

I have been battling disappointment.  Someone has let me down and it has blindsided me so completely I have not been able to wrap my mind around it.

The truth is, that it isn’t the first time I have experienced disappointment from this person.  But, I usually can just look at the situation and get over it.  For some reason, this time is different.

I try my best to not be a disappointment.  My daughters have always told me that the worst thing I could ever say to them is that I was disappointed.  Although I have said it to them at times, they could never disappoint me.  The joy and life they bring to my heart is a constant source of peace to me.

That is one reason why I have struggled with this.  This evening after dinner hubby and I were talking about things on our hearts and mind.  I started to verbalize, for the first time in weeks what I was struggling with.  He listened intently and gave me wise counsel, which I have mulled over in my mind.

So, since this is the place where I am honest with myself, I decided to write about it.    I am not looking for a resolution, but, I needed to write this out.  Mostly for me to see and know that this nagging feeling that has been pricking my heart has a name and a reason.    It is disappointment.

A quote I found sums it up for me: “Nothing hurts more than being disappointed by the person you thought would never hurt you.”    I found this on Iliketoquote.com.

DAF

 

 

6 responses to “Thinking on Disappointment…

  1. Kathy says:

    My heart is hurting for you my friend…does this person know they have disappointed you…can you talk it out…I am praying that writing it down will help you

  2. Love you, thank you…I will pm you.

  3. The ring-tone on my phone is “Don’t Let Me Down” for a reason. For whatever reason I tend to recognize the good in people, more than they see in themselves, which has a way of leaving me disappointed. Hopefully this issue will be resolved for a happy ending.

  4. Debbie Whetstone says:

    I know that kind of disappointment too. My heart is hurting for you. Love you and I’ll be here if you need to talk. ❤️

  5. thank you Life. I am hoping so also.

  6. thank you so much Debbie, Love you and miss you. Let’s talk soon.

Let me know what you think!

