dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Voices from the past…

on August 9, 2016

My sister has been posting some old pictures on her Facebook page.  The pictures are of our parents when they were dating or from when we were young.

Each photo stirs up memories.  One of the pictures was taken at my aunt’s home.  In the comments my sisters and I each wrote where we sat around the table and who was sitting where we did after we were grown and our folks gone.

Thinking about this, I realized that deep within me are voices from the past.  Voices, that if I  listen intently, I can still hear today.  I can hear the laughter, I can hear the quiet conversations, I can hear the disagreements with their siblings, my aunts and uncles.

I once heard from a good friend that words are eternal.  That once a word is spoken it echoes and echoes throughout eternity.  That thought makes me realize that, yes, those voices I hear in my heart and mind are the echoes of those times.

I love being able to remember my parents and my aunts and uncles.  There is a comfort in that.  There is a connection.  I look at my children and the pictures they post.  Someday those pictures will spark a connection with myself and my husband.  They will look at photos and hear once more the laughter and the conversations.

I pray that the echoes of my voice will be as comforting and lovely as the echoes that reside in my mind and heart.

Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your time.  Cathi  (DAF)

Let me know what you think!

