dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Cardio Fitness…

on June 25, 2016

(This is an attempt to write tongue in cheek, just a warning)

I have started a new fitness regimen.  I have been doing this for roughly three weeks.  It’s a cardio workout.  Strictly leg raises.

I start in the morning.  I lift a leg and it feels like a normal leg.  Easy to move and shift, getting it into place.  I feel good about it and have lots of energy.

Mid day, I have done several leg lifts.  I start to feel it.  The leg now weighs at least 50 lbs.  I move the leg and get it into place.  I wipe my brow and feel like I have accomplished much.

Dinner time the leg now weighs about 100 lbs..   I debate if food is going to help this situation.  I succumb and dinner is served.

The evening goes by much too quickly.  Many more leg raises are done during this time.  Each leg lift is more wearying.   I feel it in my back.  I hear my joints creak.  The leg now weighs about 180 lbs..    I long for bedtime, but know there may be times of leg lifts throughout the night.

Fortunately, hubby has a sense of humor.  Each evening I tell him how much his leg weighs.  We make jokes about his leg and at times we both start laughing so hard I am afraid I will drop it.

A week ago when he was discharged from the hospital, I was grumpy.  I thought the discharge too soon.  The nurse looked at me and said with a smile and a laugh, it will be good exercise for you.  Now, I have great respect for nurses and for the wonderful job they do.  It is a calling to be a nurse, but, I have to confess, in my mind, I was wondering how far she would fly across the room when I punched her.  I must have given her ‘that’ look, for hubby piped in quickly (thank God) and said, she has been doing this for the past couple of weeks, she has already gotten lots of ‘exercise’.    That helped.

But, here I am, another week out and looking forward to at least another three weeks of his leg being straight out in a brace, not able to bend it, me doing my new cardio… leg lifts, uh one, uh two, uh… ugh………

Thanks for stopping in.  I needed a break!  DAF (Cathi)

 

 

4 responses to “Cardio Fitness…

  1. Helen Hurr says:

    I am glad you r the nurse of the day — as I sit on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the ocean.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Where are you Helen Kay? Have fun, wish I was sitting next to you.

  3. Ruth Ann says:

    You are so cute! Ruthie

    On Sat, Jun 25, 2016 at 7:36 PM, dearanonymousfriend wrote:

    > dearanonymousfriend posted: “(This is an attempt to write tongue in cheek, > just a warning) I have started a new fitness regimen. I have been doing > this for roughly three weeks. It’s a cardio workout. Strictly leg raises. > I start in the morning. I lift a leg and it feels like a ” >

  4. thanks Ruthie! Love you.

Let me know what you think!

