dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Resting…

on January 13, 2016

I usually do not sit still.  I wake up with a full agenda and try to keep on task with each thing I have thought about before waking up.  I usually add to the list once I am up and around, but, for the most part I am focused.

Over the weekend, I realized that I was tired.  I was weary.  Motivation left me and I just did not feel like moving.  At first, I was fearful that I was coming down with something, a cold or possibly the flu.

So, on Monday, I ignored everything and dug into putting away Christmas.  Sorting and folding ribbons according to color and dismantling artificial trees and putting them away.  I made great progress, but was grumpy while doing it.

So, yesterday, I did nothing.  I sat and I even took a nap.  Today, the day is half over and I still have not gotten busy.  I woke with no list running through my brain.  It was an odd feeling, but, I am purposely going slow.  I know later this afternoon I will head back to the Christmas decorations and work a bit, but, I will not drive myself to completing the task.

I have reminded myself that in September I started to do a Bible study on resting.  I know I put resting on the back burner and I tend to think (for myself) that when I do not have a list a mile long then I am being lazy.  There is a part of my brain that knows that is just ridiculous, but still, this is me being honest.

I stopped researching rest in October when I allowed myself to become busy to a fault again.  The beginning of a new year brought the usual parade of things in my mind.  Right in the middle of the parade was the topic of rest.  My initial response is, “After I get the Christmas decorations down and packed and put up the Valentine decorations and clean the house and reorganize things from the holidays and so on and so forth”

Over the weekend, feeling void of any motivation the parade started creeping through my brain.  Between each thing I felt the need for rest.  I watched and listened and committed to start, once more, to learn the meaning of rest.

I also have determined to be more open in my blogging this year.  More transparent.  This is my first step at this.  So, as I learn to rest and be more ‘me’, I leave you with a scripture that has been blatantly sitting on my brain.  It is my hope that it will move deeper into my heart and soul.

Matthew 11:28-30New Living Translation (NLT)

28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

I have known He is right there with me.  I go to Him often.  This time, I need to allow Him to teach me to rest.    Thanks for stopping by,  DAF

 

2 responses to “Resting…

  1. Stacy N says:

    I feel you. I almost never allow myself to rest. But how can we become rejuvenated or insightful if we don’t? We can’t.

  2. Stacy, that is why I am determined to learn about and how to rest… so that I can be renewed. Love you, thanks for reading!

Let me know what you think!

