dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

When Memories Echo…

on November 5, 2015

Little Man left yesterday after a ten-day visit.  It was his first visit to our new home.  He was the first to play in the playroom we made for our grandchildren.

I wanted a room for the kids to be kids in.  The room that is made to run in, drive trucks in, play with trains and hot wheels.  The room that will eventually have dolls to play with and dress up.  The room that I hope keeps changing and growing along with the children.

They left around noon yesterday.  With hugs and kisses and many tears (on my part), they left to start their new life in Charleston.  They will be much closer, and I still cannot wrap my head around that fact.

Last night, after doing laundry and vacuuming, I walked into the playroom.  The puzzles were still put together on the floor.  The trucks were in varying stages of being wrecked.  Coloring books and crayons were in the same place on the floor.

My eyes teared up.  Although my heart was full of wonderful memories, the room echoed with footsteps running back and forth.  I could hear the giggles and the little voice telling Grammy what was going on next.

I turned around, closed the door and decided it was too soon to pick up the memories of a week well spent on my part.

Thanks for stopping by…   my next post will be by a guest blogger…  I know you will enjoy it!   DAF

4 responses to “When Memories Echo…

  1. Awe…I know how much you love him, and all your grandchildren. I also know how anxious you were about moving. This sounds like it really is much better all the way around. Sometimes we don’t see this when our lives are suddenly interrupted. The essay itself is so visual. Saw those puzzles. Heard that laughter,

  2. He is so much fun… we took hikes in our woods and threw stones and twigs into our creek. We raked leaves and he jumped in them, we played hard. It was awesome. We skyped too, on Little Miss’ first birthday on Halloween. My life is blessed! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Lynn says:

    Sounds like a win for everyone!

  4. It was a total win! The kids liked have a transition place between packing and unpacking and it was great to have Little Man with us. Thanks for stopping by!

Let me know what you think!

