dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

The ABC’s of Moving…

on June 18, 2015

Thought I would try a different approach to writing about the past few weeks…

A ~ auto accident while showing our oldest daughter around our new area… nothing serious, a fender bender for them, a dented passenger door for us.

B ~ broken ribs (five of them) for a good friend of ours who was trying to help us get ready to move in…  he fell off a ladder and is now recovering…

C~ Carpeting that still isn’t ordered as we had planned…. this reminds me of the saying, “We make plans and God laughs”

D ~ Discovering new areas where we live, new shops, new restaurants, new roads to travel

E ~ Energy that is eluding hubby and I.  It’s a hot summer, but, the humidity isn’t near what it was in Charleston.

F ~ Finding things packed in odd boxes, and forgetting that I really thought I was organized a few months ago.

G ~ Grocery shopping in new places and finding that familiar things aren’t always where we expect them.

H ~ Heavy boxes are always the ones that are in the way of the boxes you need to get to.  The heavy boxes move from one place to another and you find that you have to shove them out-of-the-way no matter how many times you move them.

I ~ Insurance agents that you are getting to know quickly after the broken ribs and the fender bender… They are very nice and accommodating…

J ~ Junk drawers… I never thought I had so much useless stuff that I really will need at some point in my life….

K ~ Killing bugs that think they belong in this house… they don’t.

L ~ Little Miss visiting us and making us laugh often.  She is a sweetie.

M ~ Memories that have already started to accumulate in our new home.  I have a happy heart thinking of the people who have already seen this place and I dream of the time when others can be here with us.

N ~ Naps desired… but not many taken.

O ~ Opening box upon box upon box and still not finding the legs to my table that goes on my side of the bed.

P ~ Pool cleaning… poor hubby…. we have had a pool of many colors.  He is becoming well-known at the local pool supply store…  But, it’s getting closer to being the right color….

Q ~ A new quilt bought for our guest room, it is lovely and looks perfect in the guest room.

R ~ Reminders of friends and family fill our new place with reminders of sweet presents we have received through the years.

S ~ A dead scorpion in the guest bathroom… couldn’t figure out why my puppy was growling and lunging until we saw the dead insect on the floor.  Found out they are common in the area, but their sting is no worse than a wasp sting…. I really hope it was the only one I see and that I never experience their sting.

T ~ Tinkering… seeing hubby move from one project to another, happy as can be.  This blesses me.

U ~ Unearthing  gems of landscaping under fall leaves that were never picked up.

V ~ Visiting  local places and seeing whether they will become popular haunts to revisit.

W ~ Wishing that this place was more organized and settled.

X ~  eXcited to be in our own home.  Feeling giddy each time I pull into the driveway.

Y ~ Yearning to be settled.  To be able to walk in each room and find it ready.  I know it will come, I am just anxious for it to be finished.

Z ~ Zeal to be here.  To be home.

The past few weeks have been crazy busy.  But, I have loved each moment spent here.  Hot, sweaty, frustrated, perplexed, giddy with excitement and feeling overwhelmed with the amount of chores ahead of us.  This home is truly a gift for us and we want to prove worthy stewards of this place.  A lot has happened, but, that is truly what makes a house a home.

Thanks for stopping by, DAF

10 responses to “The ABC’s of Moving…

  1. Susie says:

    A new open book with fresh, clean pages. I like starting with the basics. Great piece my friend.

  2. thanks Susie… it’s been interesting and I keep hearing your encouragement in my mind. Get to know each room and empty a box a day… although I haven’t emptied a box in a few days now… having fun with Little Miss.

  3. Susie says:

    The boxes will wait – this is your forever home (she smiles). Now go play! XO

  4. we did play a bit today, had lunch with Little Man’s mama… 😉

  5. Janelle says:

    Have you found those table legs yet? 🙂 congratulations on a successful and happy move!

  6. Still no table legs! I have actually moved another table from my living room into our bedroom and I think I am beginning to like that one more! Still lots of boxes, but, I am suspecting that the box with the legs in it are in the basement along with my hubby’s tools and his ‘mancave’ stuff… I may not find them for a few more months!
    Hope you and the men in your life are well.

  7. Janelle says:

    We are all well. Living in boxes here, too, since our move a few weeks ago. But happy:)

  8. I didn’t know you moved? A local move or a big one? Did you blog about it and I missed it? I will go check it out.

  9. Janelle says:

    A big move. We moved to British Columbia on the west coast. I probably wrote more on my fb page than my blog, because I was so busy the last few months with packing and such.

  10. I haven’t been on my blog much at all the past couple of months. I just went and got a bit caught up. British Columbia is beautiful, I have heard, hubby loved it and my youngest loved it when she was there. Our closest friends used to pastor there before we met them, they love it there. We moved 200 miles, so I know that this move was major for you. We are now in a rural part of the state, and we are gardening and composting and talking of canning and all of that… we went up in size and everyone things we are out of our mind for being our age and going bigger. It is a fulfillment of our dreams, we just hope we haven’t bit off more than we should have, but, like you wrote, in your piece I don’t know…. we know we are at peace and I don’t know why I am not panicking about it all… we are just having fun here in the country!

Let me know what you think!

