dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Searching for Happily Ever After…

on January 20, 2015

Hubby and I are on a quest of sorts…  We are in the process of finding our forever after home.  Being a military couple, we have had our share of moving.  Granted, we were at one place for almost 28 years, but, we did have one move during that time. This is hopefully the last time we utter that four letter word.  It is a painful word and one we dread.  MOVE, is a mighty word.  It makes me tired just looking at it.  But, move, we will be doing this year.  Where?  That is our question also. This week, in celebration of our 40th wedding anniversary, we have set out to start our quest for this home. Today, we drove around the upstate part of South Carolina.  As we drove around I thought of what I was seeing out the window.  (Now, mind you, I gave in and actually had two glasses of a forbidden substance for me… I caved and had sweet tea)  Some of my readers, well, one in particular (you know who you are!  wink, wink…) know the effects of sweet tea, me and a closed in-car.  I begin to bounce off the seat, and I start to talk, fast.  I start to laugh at anything, and I make off-hand remarks.  Hubby threatened to put me in the back with the dog and have him be his navigator, but he didn’t follow through on his threats. What we did see was beautiful countryside.  Rolling hills, fields, small towns, and many interesting homes.  We saw some lovely large churches, and some cute little churches that looked welcoming.  There were cemetaries everywhere.  We commented that either there were many cemetaries in the area, or we kept going around a very large area of tombstones and we were seeing it from different angles. Several places were burned.  They looked like chimney fires.  One that struck me was a burnt pile of debris.  There was a man sitting by the ruins.  He was looking out over the site.  My heart was touched as I thought (and obviously am still thinking) about him. The day was filled for me in silent prayer.  Prayer for that man.  Prayer for the area.  Most of all, prayer that we will, Lord willing find the place He wants us to land.  A place to put down roots that need a place to grow.  A place that is not a temporary fix, but a place to grow old in.  A place to see not only the landscape mature, but see us, as a couple, a family mature and age. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your visit.   DAF

6 responses to “Searching for Happily Ever After…

  1. Coming East says:

    Where was your favorite place? Because our kids do not live close to each other, we will never be able to be near all of them at the same time. Virginia Beach seems to be a good place to retire. Well, one of us has retired, at least.

  2. DJ Mynatt says:

    I sure hope you find the perfect location. As much as I want my own home, since money is very tight, we are still in an apt.

    But now the question is… if we were able to buy a small home, where should it be? We’re not sure we want to stay close to Nashville (we’re only here for my job) and we don’t want to go back to Knoxville. But we are definitely pretty serious about staying in Tennessee. Currently our thoughts are moving close to the Kentucky or North Caroline border.

    A lot of talk, but not the right time to go searching — not until the job/money situation changes enough to allow for a move.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. That is just what we need to do!
    DJM

  3. Donna, it is something we are going slowly with. Will be praying for your decision also. Thanks for stopping by today, I appreciate you.

  4. We are still in the process of trying to figure that out Coming East…. We have the same thing with our kids, one on each coast… We love South Carolina and know it will be somewhere here, just don’t know for certain where “here” is yet! Thanks for stopping by…

  5. Coming East says:

    If you move to South Carolina, you won’t be too far from me, relatively speaking.

  6. We are already in South Carolina, only down in the lowcountry. Each time we head up to see our kids in the northern VA area, I think of you as we go up the 95…

Let me know what you think!

