dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Could it be possibly be?

on October 15, 2014

I really dislike warm weather.  I was excited to go to San Diego at first because I was leaving the 90 degree temps that are so common here in South Carolina in September.

I was excited until I realized that San Diego was hot also.

I felt like I couldn’t escape from the heat.  Upon returning to Charleston the temperatures were warm.  Not the 90’s, but high 80’s.  Yesterday I walked out of the house in the morning to walk our dog.  Opening the door, I was hit by warmth.  My immediate reaction was not positive (which fit in with my day yesterday).

Last night we had rain.  There was a bit of thunder with it also.  Hubby and I took our dog for his last walk last night and hubby remarked how much cooler it was.  We always disagree on the temperature, anything lower than 90 is cool to him.  Personally, the colder, the better.

This morning as I left the house for my morning walk, it was cooler!  I was so excited.  Maybe, possibly, summer is over?  After all, it is almost November.  The leaves are falling off some of the trees.  I think they are just done with the heat and have decided to commit suicide and leave the trees without changing any color.  (It’s hot, I’m done, good-bye cruel world!)

So, hopeful that the sun shining in the woods behind our home is a sign that it is now fall and soon the trees will be bare, I write about my favorite of seasons.  Fall, that season that says we survived the heat of summer.  Fall, that season that welcomes in the holidays.  Fall, that season where we can legally eat pumpkin pie and not be stared at for not eating berries.  Fall, that season that allows us to pull out sweaters and jeans and socks that cover the ankle.   Yes, I am excited.

Technically fall arrived a couple of weeks ago.  It says so on the calendars.  Also the stores are filled with Halloween, a bit of Thanksgiving and  Christmas.  The signs have all been here, except for the weather.  My sweatshirts are calling my name.  I hear them from the closet.  Now, if only this weather holds and gets a little colder…  Maybe, just maybe fall has arrived?

Thanks, DAF

4 responses to “Could it be possibly be?

  1. Lynn says:

    Fall is my favourite time of year DAF. It is been unseasonally warm here in southern Ontario but I am certain winter is just around the corner. I look forward to the change of seasons, each one bringing its own magic:)

  2. DJ Mynatt says:

    I too, love fall… fall might be my favorite time of year, once the heat is finally over. Too often, by the time the hot days (and nights) are gone, it’s almost winter.

    Extreme cold and heat temps are very rough on me – lots of aches, pain, and headaches. But the cool weather is such a blessing!

    Let us rejoice! Let’s enjoy the beautiful fall weather – and scenery!

  3. Lynn, that’s true that each season is spectacular in it’s own way, but I admit, I am partial to fall and winter… I know it will cool soon in Ontario, such a beautiful place. Thank you for stopping by my blog today, and for leaving a comment, it is nice to hear from you!

  4. Diane, so very true! I relate to all you wrote about. fall is glorious though, with all the colors in our Lord’s palette. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate you.

Let me know what you think!

