dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Words…

on June 14, 2014

I have thought about writing about words for the past couple of months.  In that time, I even heard a sermon that talked about words and the impact they have on others.

I have thought about words a lot lately.  I have thought  about the written word, the Word of God, and the spoken word.  We easily toss words around.  We speak in jest, we speak in anger, we speak seriously, and with humor.

I know I have spoken words that have hurt lately, and honestly, I didn’t care if they hurt.  This caused me to stop and think about what came out of my mouth, and what came out with my writing.

Words echo on in the minds of the people who hear or read them.  When you think about it, it is an awesome responsibility.  Do I truly want words that hurt and offend to be what people think about?  In a moment of weakness or anger or frustration, do I speak life or death to people?  In a time when I am wanting to lash out and empty myself of pain and situations that bother me, do I write words that do not bring hope or joy to people?

Words are powerful things.  I still remember things said to me when I was in elementary school.  Things that hurt me and made me self-conscious of who I was and what I looked like.  These things shaped my thinking.

I have been in awe of the powerful ability of words.  It has made me stop and think about what I write.  It has made me stop and think before speaking.  It has made me stop and ask myself if this is truly how I feel or am I just spewing out things that make me feel better at the cost of others.

I don’t have a solution to any of this, but, I did want to share it with all of you.  What are your thoughts on this?  Have you ever had a time where you became aware of words?  Their beauty, their harshness, their life?    Just wondering, and I hope to hear your thoughts on this.

Thanks, DAF

 

6 responses to “Words…

  1. Dottie says:

    You can never take back the spoken word.

  2. I know… I know… love you!

  3. I think about the effect of words a lot. I’m very conscious of their power in the school set up. Not only the words themselves but in how I say them. I want the children to remember things they are taught and to learn to laugh at life as well as treating it as a gift. It feels like an awesome responsibility and privilege most times. I don’t always get it right – who does – but I’m very aware of it. Probably moreso there than anywhere else. I really should give more consideration to their impact at home. I’m more careless here than anywhere and I too find myself apologising for things said in haste or in annoyance. But that’s also family life where you’re most relaxed.
    I’ve never been aware of your words being reproachable. As for what we say in the family, we can be sure of answers back, I’m thinking. And then some hugs and a laugh to ease the tension that we all feel at times. Hugs to you.x

  4. Oh Scottishmommus, your words bless. I am certain the children at school remember your words with clarity and fondness. At home and with our family, we are more relaxed and I agree that at times we say things that shouldn’t be spoken…. You are right, hugs, and some laughter do heal a lot and family is where you can be real and honest both in what you say and do, but also in how you receive and listen to others. Thank you for your comment, I appreciate you. DAF

  5. You’re welcome, DAF. I think the fact that you’re giving thought to the impact of words at all suggests to me that you would never cause offence wittingly. But we all have feelings that need to be expressed to be understood. And all feelings are relevant. I suppose the secret might be that we listen as well as speak. I have to remind myself of this. And sometimes it’s ok to say nothing at all. Which I’m definitely not so good with! 😉 x

Let me know what you think!

