dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Hi Ho, Hi Ho…

on March 29, 2014

Fourteen years ago this past October 31st, I left my job.  I was the executive assistant to the director of a not for profit organization in San Diego.  I left to have free time, to write, to paint and to travel with hubby.

I loved this.  I loved having free time and being able to carry out some of these things.  I am obviously writing now, consistently, I have painted a few pictures, and I had a season of cross-country road trips with my dear friend.  Life has been filled with blessings, laughter and joy.

All good things come to an end, though.  I have written several times that I would need to return to the work force.  As of last night, I have returned.  I start my new job on Monday morning.

Part of the crazy weeks I have had since returning home has been the process of getting this job.  I heard about the possibility of this job right before leaving for my week with Little Man.  I applied, sent my resume, and wrote my cover letter.  I actually did not expect to hear anything else.  I figured that I had at least accomplished this and it was a milestone for me.

Upon returning, I heard back from this company.  Early this week I had a phone interview with someone from the corporate office.  I managed to be relaxed and comfortable on the phone.  I amazed myself.  I had also prayed hard about this phone call.  The Lord is faithful.

From the phone conversation came an appointment for an first interview with the person whom I would be working for.  The 45 minute interview went well.  Again, after much prayer, I was comfortable.  I have come to an age where I am myself.  Gone are the days of fretting about how others think of me.  What you see is what you get.  If you don’t like me, oh well…

From that conversation came another appointment for a third interview.  This happened yesterday afternoon.  Again, lots of prayer before heading into the room with two other people.  I talked about myself (which is what they wanted to happen) for about thirty minutes.  I answered their questions.  I left the interview exhausted.

I am introvert.  This week has been tiring.  But, last night I heard from the woman who is my boss.  She is a delightful person, full of enthusiasm.  She asked me to come work for her.  I start at 8 a.m.  the day after tomorrow.

I am looking forward to this new challenge.  I hope I can keep up with her.  I keep thinking that I am like one of those rusty old pumps you see in movies and pictures.  The kind that is well-built, but needs a bit of priming.

So, off to work I go…  I will continue to blog and write, I just won’t be doing it lazily while sitting and enjoying my second or third cup of tea in the morning.

Thanks for stopping by, and if you think of it, say a prayer for me that these old rusty work joints of mine get loosened up.  DAF

2 responses to “Hi Ho, Hi Ho…

  1. diannegray says:

    Congratulations and best of luck! 😀

Let me know what you think!

