dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

My Heart and Little Man…

on March 27, 2014

It’s been almost two weeks since I left Little Man.  Almost two weeks of living with my heart somewhere else.  I have survived, but it is lonely.

My visit with L.M. went much too fast.  He is full of life.  He laughs often, talks even more than laughing, and sings.  His current favorites, “Baa Baa Black Sheep” and “ABC’s” get new words and phrases thrown into them.  It is toddler skatting.  (Urban Dictionary defines skatting: To sing with no words. An old form of singing popular in the early part of the 20th century. )  If anyone joins in with him, he is enveloped with gales of laughter which is contagious.

Time since I flew home has quickly passed.  It’s just that type of season in my life.  I have been focused on events around me, but, lurking in the background is a shadow.  It is the reminder that I truly did leave my heart.  Not in San Francisco as the song goes, but, in D.C..

It will be another couple of months before I get to see him again, so, until then, I wait for more first hand stories and lessons from Little Man.

Thanks for stopping by today, DAF

2 responses to “My Heart and Little Man…

  1. Jacqueline says:

    He sounds like an absolute little love. I can understand how sad it must make you feel to leave him. I’m imagining that the love you feel for grandchildren is indulgent even beyond what you feel for your own children. I’m hoping to know that in the next few years. In fact, I’ll likely be looking to your wisdom! Be gentle with your heart. I hope the time passes quickly until your next visit. XX

  2. everyone had told me that being a grandparent is incredible and beyond words. I thought they must be exaggerating, they weren’t! I think every parent should have the bliss of being able to experience this joy.

Let me know what you think!

