dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

A fun weekend ahead…

on March 20, 2014

Today I have a friend coming to visit.  We have been friends since we were paired together in fourth grade for a science experiment.  She had some of the equipment needed and I had access to some of the needed test objects.  In this case, snails.  We have been friends since.

She retired a year ago after being a college professor for most of her career.  She is fascinating and I love being around her.

Since her retirement, she has started to check off things on her bucket list.  I haven’t even written a bucket list yet, but I am enjoying her list immensely.  This weekend, she is checking off another item on the list.  She is coming to Charleston for the home and garden tours.

What is better is, she is treating me to two of the tours!  We will offer the room and board, she provides the entertainment.  I am looking forward to spending time with her.  I know we will talk ourselves hoarse and we will walk until we drop.  It will be a great weekend.

I will write next week about this weekend.  I will also finish up writing about my time with Little Man.  I love it when there are things to write about, don’t you?

Until next week, hope your days are filled with the very best.  Thanks for stopping by!  DAF

10 responses to “A fun weekend ahead…

  1. Lynn says:

    Catching up with friends from our past is wonderful. I had a similar experience with a couple of childhood friends awhile back & felt the urge to write a little something about it as the experience of seeing them always touches my heart. Have a read if you like,
    http://lymart.wordpress.com/2013/09/19/days-gone-by/
    Enjoy your weekend! Look forward to reading about it!

  2. What a beautiful post! I agree with your words, long time friends share a unique history and memories that are rare and wonderful. I am so looking forward to catching up, although we did get to spend a few days together this past September, but so much has happened in the past few months, I know we will be talking non stop… poor hubby, he will be in sensory overload!

  3. Have a great weekend DAF! It is always nice to catch up with good friends!

  4. she is here and we are having a wonderful time! Thanks.

  5. What a wonderful essay DAF…really.

  6. thanks, it was a wonderful weekend.

  7. It’s nice you have such a good friend. My two best friends are long gone. Miss them every day.

  8. I am certain you do. have thought of you all weekend, praying for you. Hope your weekend was okay

  9. I’m in bed reading Anne Lamott…you’d like her

  10. Have a wonderful evening and enjoy Anne… she’s the author you like when you are a bit down? Hope you are doing okay.

Let me know what you think!

