dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Words used without knowing meaning…

on February 27, 2014

I haven’t written much this week.  I have read blogs, commented on blogs, but really haven’t wanted to write.

I have been in a funk.

Since I have been this way most of the week, I figured I would write about it… so, for inspiration I looked up what it meant to be in a funk.

According to the Cambridge Dictionary online it means, “to be very unhappy and without hope:”.   Wow!  Who knew?  I didn’t.

So, after reading the definition I realized that I am not in a funk, because I have hope.    I feel like this year is a year of hope for me.  I am hopeful for many things.  Guess I need to define all my moods to really be correct.

So, since I am not in a funk, I looked up that word I really haven’t wanted to use to define how I am feeling.  But, here it is.  I am grumpy.  I looked that word up, and sure enough, that word describes me.  According to dictionary.com, grumpy means, “surly or ill-tempered; discontentedly or sullenly irritable; grouchy.”

Yep, I definitely need to keep a dictionary handy and look up words as I think of them.  I know there are other words I use often that may not accurately mean what I mean.

Hopefully, after this Oscar (the grouch) stage I will go on to look up other descriptors, such as contentment, joy, laughter and peace.  Until then, I think I am going to go find something else to  be irritable about.

Thanks for stopping by… DAF

4 responses to “Words used without knowing meaning…

  1. katebortell says:

    You have my complete and utter support. Grumpy and i are well acquainted. Mke sure he doesnt stay too long. Actually hes probably headed this way soon. ❤❤

  2. I usually don’t get like this, at least not too often. I just feel for hubby, I don’t even like being around myself lately!

  3. katebortell says:

    I know. It will pass i promise. 🌺🌺

Let me know what you think!

