dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Marietta..

on February 2, 2014

Last night I had a dream about my mother in law.  No, it was not a nightmare, as I had a wonderful mother in law.

I haven’t dreamed about her in years, so last night’s visit was special.  Mom passed away 23 years ago.  I have missed her daily.

Most people have a period of adjustment when it comes to mother- in-laws.  It’s just the nature of the beast, I think.  I did not have that time.  We bonded long before I said ‘I do’ to her son.  We were friends and cohorts in crime together.  We would shop, get lost, laugh hysterically, shop some more, eat and all the while we talked and laughed together.

Hubby came from a family of all boys.  So, Mom never had a daughter.  When it came time to plan our wedding Mom stepped in to help.  It was a perfect arrangement, really.  She had no daughter and I had no mother.  She actually picked out my wedding dress and was with me during each decision for our wedding.

Throughout this time though, I did not know what to call her.  I avoided using a name in conversation.  The day after we married, hubby and I had to travel to our new home a few states away from where we grew up.  Before we left, I had a conversation with Mom.  I asked what I should call her, since we were both Mrs…….  .  She looked at me and said, “Well, you could call me Marietta, or Etta. ” She then paused and looked at me and gently said, “Or, you could call me Mom.”

The word Mom had not passed my lips at that point for  almost 8 years.  I thought a few minutes about it.  As we were leaving, I gave her a hug and said, “Good bye Mom, we’ll call when we get there.”

A few years later, I read the book of Ruth in the Bible.  It talked about a family where the father and his son died.  The son was married to Ruth, and his mother was Naomi.  Ruth could have left Naomi and had a life of her own, she instead chose to stay with Naomi.  She loved her mother in law.    I love this story.  I understand how Ruth felt, for I felt this way towards Marietta.

Love comes in many forms.  When my Mother died, I did not think I would ever feel that unique bond again.  I never expected to find in with a mother in law.  God places people in families, but I did not realize that when I married.

Today, I have missed Mom.  She was a joy to be around.  We could get into trouble going to the grocery store.  I have spent the day going through memories and smiling.

This verse is one that reminds me of her,  ” But Ruth said, “Don’t force me to leave you; don’t make me go home. Where you go, I go; and where you live, I’ll live. Your people are my people, your God is my god; where you die, I’ll die, and that’s where I’ll be buried, so help me God—not even death itself is going to come between us!” Ruth 1:16-17 (The Message)

Thanks for stopping by today, DAF

8 responses to “Marietta..

  1. I recall that passage and a beautiful one it is. How well placed that both you and your Mom found what both needed at that time in both lives. She sounds like a joy to have known. No wonder you remember her and still miss her.You shared precious times and memories. And a wonderful bond. I’m sure she valued this as much as you obviously did.
    Thank you for sharing such a beautiful insight into a relationship so often spoken of scathingly.x

  2. Lynn says:

    What a lovely tribute to your mother-in-law Daf. How wonderful that you shared such a great relationship with her.

  3. I was really blessed in having her in my life. So glad you enjoyed the post. I only wish I can be half the mother in law that she was.

  4. Lynn, I was blessed beyond measure with her. She was a wonderful person to know.

  5. Homestead Ramblings says:

    What a rare treasure you had been given. This is a wonderful testimony to her and you as well.

  6. thank you Homestead. She was a wonderful person, and actually she did not like me when I first started dating her son, but we became friends and she was one of my best.

  7. Kari Ann says:

    How special that after losing your own mother God placed such a special mother-in-law in your life :] This is such a beautiful post.

  8. She was a neat lady… it was a gift to have her. I am glad you liked this post… hope you are feeling well.

Let me know what you think!

