dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

A recurring theme…

on January 7, 2014

Thinking of my blog and writing this year, I have half decided that I will have a theme for each month.  Before you get too impressed, I only came up with two very obvious themes.  January is winter and February is love.   I am still not convinced I will stick to these themes, but, I figure it’s worth a shot.

I never saw winter happening like it has the past week.  I mean really happening in the weather here in North America.  Winter has slammed into this continent with a huge statement in its wake.    I have read several blogs and posts on Facebook all with the theme of winter and weather and temperatures.  It was enough for me to cower and cry ‘Uncle’ !

From the caliber of writing about this season, I know my pieces will pale in comparison.  So many have the talent to put you in their places, snow up to the waist, wind howling through eaves, snow drifts overtaking vehicles.   It is incredible the images we see and the details given.  It all sends a shudder through me and I search for a mug of something hot and steaming that I can sip while sitting cuddled up in a thick warm blanket in front of roaring fire.

I am going to continue in writing about winter this month.  It is a challenge I have given myself.  Winter is a season.  It is a season that we see phenomenal images of icicles and snow drifts and wind blowing.  It is also a season we go through in our lives, when personal things are frozen and cold.  When our hearts seem dormant and still.  In both instances winter is a time of growth.  Unseen though it may be, there is a deep growth going on in winter.

My hope is that this winter (weather or personal) will be long enough to produce good, healthy growth in the spring.  Thanks for stopping by today, DAF

16 responses to “A recurring theme…

  1. katebortell says:

    Great idea DAF. I worry about not having something to blog about from time to time so that will definitely give you direction! Looking forward to it.
    Kate

  2. hopefully it will work…

  3. katebortell says:

    Well you cant be fired so whats to lose?

  4. Susie says:

    Beautiful! I think a theme is wonderful idea – I especially love the spiritual aspect of your writing. And, why not? Jesus taught using parables and allegories.

  5. I love a good allegory also! Thanks for your continued encouragement and love.

  6. Why, thank you! Hope you are doing well.

  7. suzie81 says:

    I’m good thanks! Wish it was Christmas again, but never mind!!

  8. back in school? Sorry.

  9. suzie81 says:

    Yeah, but I’ll get back into it soon!

  10. Elaine Gray says:

    Perhaps the very reason for the season WINTER is for all living things to “be still” and prepare for the season of rejuvenation. Great post!

  11. thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed it.

  12. Janelle says:

    Looking forward to it all:)

  13. This is such a great idea DA…looking forward to your posts!

  14. thanks! It’s good to hear from you!

Let me know what you think!

