dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Sharing Some Lunch…

on January 3, 2014

The past couple of days there have been some texts and Facebook messages and last night there was a phone call.  All of these talked about the possibility of meeting our firstborn for lunch.

Now, to  most, this is no big deal.  For hubby and I, this was something thrilling.  Our oldest lives in San Diego.  Her boyfriend is from Georgia and they are visiting his folks and family for Christmas.  They fly back home on Sunday.

Today, we met halfway.  We each drove a couple of hours and met for some lunch together.  It was more than nice.  It was lovely.

To be able to see our oldest walk into the restaurant  with her guy made my heart race.  I was thrilled being able to see her and hug on her.  To feel her and know that she is, in fact, okay.

I forget how lonely my arms get for a hug from my daughters.  Yes, I hug my hubby, and hug friends and hug people at church.  All these hugs are nice, and comforting.  But, nothing beats the hug of your children.  There is something there that makes your heart melt.

We sat for a little over three hours together.  We talked about Christmas and their visit.  We talked about some things in San Diego.  We laughed together and shared a meal.  We were family for three hours.  It was nice.

Tonight, I am grateful for being able to see my firstborn.  I am thankful for today.  It was a good day, a day that will hold warm memories for me until we can see her again.

Thanks for stopping by today.  DAF

4 responses to “Sharing Some Lunch…

  1. Sounds like a very special three hours.

  2. It was one of the best times.

  3. Lynn says:

    Giving & receiving hugs from our children is simply the best! When my son first met his wife, she told him that he gave the best hugs. She later shared this conversation with me as his response to her was, you can thank my Mom for that. She’s a hugger! The best feeling in the world:)

  4. It’s like a balm to your spirit when you get to hug on your kids.

Let me know what you think!

