dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Time to Climb out of my shell….

on November 16, 2013

I am an introvert. I am quite content to sit at home, message other bloggers, stay on Facebook, see what is happening in the lives of others.  I like quiet and being in small groups.

About a month ago, a co-worker of hubby’s called and invited us to a baby shower for his daughter.  Hubby handed the phone over to me and I talked with the gentleman for a bit and half listened to directions to his house.  We committed to the shower  and that was that.

I was glad to have something to do with hubby after his surgery and this family is a very nice family to be around.  The invitation arrived last week and I opened it, read it and planned on what to give as a gift.

Two days ago, I actually looked at the envelope and realized that this was not a couple thing, it was a me thing.  Me… the one who does not like new situations.  Me… who does not do well in crowds.  Me…. who would rather run naked down the street than go into a room full of strangers who might look at me.   Yes, my insecurities have gone into overdrive!

I have spent the past couple days going back and forth about this shower.  On one hand, I know it will not be as bad as I think it will be.  But, it starts at 6:30 and is in a new part of town and I don’t see well at night to drive.  I have tried to talk myself out of chickening out and so far I am succeeding.

I am taking hubby along and he and the gentleman from work are going to go out.  I guess there is a group of men going.  This is fine, except he is still pretty tired from his surgery and he is still in a sling.  His dominant arm is bound to him, so it should be interesting for him.

So, we have come up with a plan.  I will drop him off and he will go with the guys.  I will stay at the shower and plan on leaving early.  I will then go and pick him up and bring him home.

There are times when I really dislike my personality.  This is one of those times.  I wish I was one to enjoy new adventures and experiences, to be bold and outgoing.  I know, at times, I have been able to do this, overcoming my hesitation.  I am hoping tonight, once I am ready to go, I will somehow put on my extrovert cape and head out into this party.

If nothing else, I will have to remember Philippians 4:13, ” I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Thanks for reading my rant of the day!  DAF

6 responses to “Time to Climb out of my shell….

  1. Susie says:

    I’m glad you liked the post on FB this morning. It was intended for you my sweet friend. After reading this yesterday I wanted to make a statement that I knew you would pick up on. It’s very easy to withdraw into a comfort zone especially after life events that zap our strength (physically and emotionally). I’m glad you made the effort to attend. You have much to offer to others ~ let them see your light.

  2. We went and we actually stayed for the whole shower. I don’t think I have ever seen so many gifts for a little one. It took her two hours to open the gifts, this one will be loved, no doubt. The family is a very nice and gracious family and it was enjoyable. We are exhausted today though, so it is in and quiet for us. Still having trouble sleeping (hubby), so it was a long night for both of us, but he enjoyed being in the world again. Thanks for the quote, I just laughed aloud when I read it. ❤ you my dear friend.

  3. Kari Ann says:

    I am the exact same way and it drives me crazy too. Hope you had fun anyway :]

  4. It was very nice, I sat beside the baby’s great grandmother and she was so much fun. Don’t you hate when you know you need to go somewhere and you are just dreading it?

  5. Kari Ann says:

    Yes I do. I’m still learning to push through my fear and hesitation and to open my heart to people…but it’s not always fun :]

  6. I truly understand this. ❤

Let me know what you think!

