dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Worry… 31 Days of Observing

on October 20, 2013

31 Days Observing

Today’s sermon talked about worry.

I listened and thought about it.  I felt like it was aimed just at me.  Purely for me.  I worry.  I am a worrier.  Give me a reason and I will worry.   So, after church I did what everyone does (yes, this is sarcasm..) I googled worry.  The definition that popped up first was this one: give way to anxiety or unease; allow one’s mind to dwell on difficulty or troubles.

Yep, that’s what I have done.  Glad to know I was doing it correctly.

Part of the sermon talked about giving your worries to the Lord.  That statement resonated in me.  I thought of other times in my life, when things were overwhelming for me.  I turned easily to the Lord.  I did acts to make a remembrance of giving things over to the Lord.  Good things happened.  I survived times that I didn’t think I would.

Worry is a complete cycle of inefficient thought revolving about a pivot of fear.  ~Author Unknown

So, what makes this time different?  Why am I worrying now?

As you know the past couple years have been challenging.  Interspersed in these two years have been conversations.  Good conversations.  Talks that have left me encouraged and lifted up.  Talks that have made me relax.  Talks that have brought forth cleansing and healing tears.  Good things.  There have also been questions posed to me that have been easy enough to hear and to give some answers to.  But, these questions also lurk in the background of my mind.  They peek out the corners of my conscience and whine at me.  They are sinister at times.  They are filled with the ‘what if’s’ and ‘why not’s’ and the ‘how come’s’.   These questions attack me throughout the day and at night.  Most of the time they are ignored, but their forces increase over time and my resistance grows weak at times.

It is not the cares of today, but the cares of tomorrow, that weigh a man down.  ~George MacDonald

Today, I have heard words that encourage.  They don’t make it magically all better, but they encouraged me.  I need to deal with my worry.  Hubby always says that worry is like an ugly dog, it looks worse coming than going.  I usually roll my eyes at that comment and I cannot believe I actually wrote that out here, but, he is right.

I am going to attempt to put my worries in the Lord’s lap.  I will approach the throne of grace in prayer and put my arms around all my fears and concerns and plop them right on the lap of the heavenly Father.  I don’t want it.  I don’t need it.  I can’t do anything about any of it anyhow.  So, this is what I will try.

Do not be afraid of tomorrow; for God is already there.  ~Author Unknown

Will I succeed in all of this?  Honestly, I won’t say I will.  I would love to say, yes, and there have all worry put aside and forgotten.  I am human, though, I am flawed.  I know that I can pick things up once I have dropped them off.   I guess I will have to repeat this act often until I get the hang of it.

Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you. (IPeter 5:7, New Living Translation)

Those are my thoughts for today, thanks for stopping by DAF

Let me know what you think!

