dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Majesty…. 31 Days of Observing…

on October 12, 2013

31 Days Observing 
As I mentioned in my post yesterday, some things are just obvious.  It is easy to notice them.  They smack you in the face and you go, “Whoah!”  It’s that obvious to see things.
Yesterday was another flight delay for our oldest’s boyfriend.  He came and spent the day and night with us.  We decided to get out of the house and explore some more of the area.  We headed towards a park that hubby has wanted to visit since we moved here.  It was free and open, which was a good thing.  Many of the parks in this area are closed now, which makes sight-seeing a bit difficult.
We headed to Angel Oak Park nearby.  We arrived a half hour before closing, and I know that is a good thing, as I could have stayed for several hours marvelling at this sight.  Angel Oak tree, according to their website, is estimated to be between 400-500 years old.  (http://www.angeloaktree.com/)    It’s branches spread out and at a height of 66.5 feet,  it truly is a majestic sight.  I love trees, anyhow.   It was fascinating to see the difference in the branches (some held up by boards to keep them steady).  The variation in the bark from one side of the trunk to another fascinated me.
Here are some photos I took to share with you what I was fortunate enough to observe yesterday.  I hope you enjoy them also.
Angel Oak
Angel Oak
Angel Oak
Angel Oak

TREES

Joyce Kilmer (1886-1918)

THINK that I shall never see

A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest

Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,

And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in Summer wear

A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;

Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,

But only God can make a tree.

Thanks for stopping by today, I appreciate your visits and your time, DAF

6 responses to “Majesty…. 31 Days of Observing…

  1. I love the photos, and can see its face clear as day. Yes, trees have faces, I see them all the time. I really admire this project of yours. Your prose is so simple and visual. I saw the tree before I came to the photos. You showed me with your words.

  2. you are so kind and encouraging. Thank you for this comment, I am glad you liked the post today. The tree is incredible… I am so glad we finally made it over to see it. Hope you are having a good day today!

  3. I immediately saw the face, along with the big smile. Oh, you must go back and spend more time at this park (pack a lunch) I have a feeling there is much more to notice. Your photos are amazing!

  4. It’s very easy to take neat pictures there… I think we will be going back again. so glad you liked this post, it’s good to see you!

  5. Kari Ann says:

    Beautiful! NC has the coolest trees :] Like the poem too.

  6. hubby was trying to quote the poem while we were there, it was rather humorous.

Let me know what you think!

