dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

An Unexpected Day…. 31 Days of Observing….

on October 10, 2013

31 Days Observing 
24 hours ago I received a phone call.  It was my oldest daughter calling.  Her phone calls don’t come often and when we do talk, it is always wonderful.  Last night I heard her voice and my heart rested.  I miss talking with her and I cherish each conversation we have.
Her phone call had a purpose.  Sometimes it is like that.  We call for a reason.  Her reason was what made today an unexpected day.  Her boyfriend was returning from a mission overseas.  He was supposed to land in another city north of us and then continue to southern California.  His flight was diverted to Charleston.  She called when he landed to let us know he was here.
The long and short of it, he came to the house and spent the night.  It was good to see him, and get to know him just a bit better.  It was late by time he arrived at the house, but we stayed up to visit and he had a bite to eat.  He went to bed and I set my alarm to wake up to feed him something filling for breakfast.  He was supposed to leave this city around noon today.
He came down for breakfast to let us know his flight was delayed and we had a day together.  We were glad to have some time with him.  We had breakfast and he did some laundry and we set out to have a day out and about.
We took him to town and we walked along the water and down to the battery and then along the street with the shops.  We stopped and tasted some fudge and headed out to the beach where we walked some more along the ocean.
Dinner we went to a place on a creek and watched the dolphins playing beside us.
Sitting at dinner, listening to my hubby and daughter’s love I thought of how relaxing the day had been.  It was a break in the normal.  We played tourist and we visited with one another.  The day was lovely and the fresh air revived us and tired us out.
He just left for the airport.  It was nice to have him in our home.  It made me realize how much I miss the company of my oldest.  We took her guy to the places we know she loves, so that he could experience similar things as she has.  I thought this would be a good thing, so they could talk about these places and know what they were talking about.  My heart was glad to share with him, but there was an ache in my heart for her.
As he left I hugged him twice, once for him and one for him to pass on to my sweet girl.  It is an easy observation to know this Momma misses her baby more than she lets on.
Thanks for stopping by today.  DAF
4 responses to “An Unexpected Day…. 31 Days of Observing….

  1. Susie says:

    Whoa! We need to talk : )

  2. I love this post! Sometimes we need a wrench thrown in to our normal to keep things interesting. Glad to know you all had a wonderful time.

  3. It certainly was a surprise!

Let me know what you think!

