dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Doubt…. 31 Days of Observation….

on October 6, 2013

31 Days Observing 
I doubt it…. No doubt about it… She was having doubts…..  The ways to use this word could go on and on.
Today at church we heard about doubts.  How we should have faith to believe and not doubt.
It occurred to me that I didn’t know the exact definition of doubt.  We have heard about Doubting Thomas….  it is usually tied into being a bad thing.  Shame on you, Thomas!   Yet, I read a study on Thomas about a year ago and it mentioned that Thomas, although branded a doubter, actually stood his ground to have his faith proved.  He questioned and his doubts were ended.  That’s a good thing, isn’t it?  To have answers to things plaguing you.  To know that you know.
Looking up the word doubt I found the following:

2doubt

noun

: a feeling of being uncertain or unsure about something

Full Definition of DOUBT

1
a:  uncertainty of belief or opinion that often interferes with decision-making

b:  a deliberate suspension of judgment

2
:  a state of affairs giving rise to uncertainty, hesitation, or suspense <the outcome is still in doubt>
3
a:  a lack of confidence :  distrust<has doubts about his abilities>

b:  an inclination not to believe or accept <a claim met with doubt>

(From online Merriam-Webster)
Lately, I have gone between a lack of confidence or giving rise to uncertainty, hesitation or suspense.   I have struggled with this.
Today, though, with the mention of doubt at church, I have started thinking of this little word once more.
Maybe, like Thomas, I am not to be suspicious of the word as a negative, but, maybe, just maybe…. this is a good thing for me.  Maybe I am waiting for answers.
That’s my observation today.  Nothing earth shattering, but just thinking on this today.  Thanks for stopping by today… hope today is a good one for you and (on a personal note…)  GO PIRATES!!!!!   The girl can leave Pennsylvania, but it never leaves her….
DAF
4 responses to “Doubt…. 31 Days of Observation….

  1. I love the ‘Observation Project’…this is truly great…answers…yes, we’re allowed to need and expect them. I always felt they were too hard on Thomas. Faith under all circumstances is not so easy to attain…it is wonderful though when a doubt, especially one that needles and nags, gets quelled. Peace takes its place and that’s the Big Kahuna of blessings, isn’t it. Nicely written. Happy Sunday DAF.

  2. thank you Susannah! Hope your Sunday is going well… thanks for your comment, you bless me with your visits.

  3. Janelle says:

    These past few years, I’ve been encouraged by Thomas. Why wouldn’t he ask those questions? It seems reasonable he’s want to know the truth.

  4. so true… I had always thought less of Thomas, until I read that study on him… now, I think he was a pretty neat man of faith.

Let me know what you think!

