dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Happy 24th!….

on August 22, 2013

Today is my niece’s 24th birthday.  Not necessarily a red-letter day for most people.  Today, though, is a red-letter day.  Today is a miracle.  Today, my niece turns 24.  She was not expected to live this long.

Each year I approach this date with tears of gratitude in my eyes.  I am more aware of the grace and glory of our Lord.  He has allowed us the opportunity to know this woman.  We have had the blessing of hearing her laughter, hearing her conversations.  We have been able to hug her and watch her grow into the woman she is today.  This is a gift beyond measure.

I wrote a post about her as I blogged a post from another blogger I follow.  The post is located here: https://dearanonymousfriend.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/291/   if you would like to take a closer look at her life.

Since I last wrote about my Beth, she has graduated from college.  In her senior year she was able to share her life’s story with an auditorium filled with students and guests of the college.  She received a standing ovation that lasted more than a few minutes.  I continue to be overwhelmed at her accomplishments.  She is now like most other college graduates, she is job hunting.  I am certain she will find something, she is just like that.

I could not let today pass without writing something about her.  I cannot write about her without giving glory to our Lord.  Today, both of these are in the forefront of my mind.  I know I will spend the day thanking our God for all He has given our family through Beth.  We are a better family, we love a little harder, we cheer a bit louder and we thank our God more for the gifts He has given us.

Thanks for stopping by today, DAF

3 responses to “Happy 24th!….

  1. Beth is lucky to have such a wonderful aunt. All the best to her with her job search.

  2. thanks curtain… been thinking of you the past couple days, how are you doing? hope all is well.

  3. I’m fine, DAF. Staying busy between work, university study and also trying to have a life. Also getting a touch excited with the days getting longer, so the warm weather is just around the corner. Hope all is well with you too.

Let me know what you think!

