dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Dance of the Dragonflies….

on August 11, 2013

Around my home I have several objects that were gifts from friends.  Each time I see one of these, I think of the person who gave me the gift and I pray for them.

I have a little angel from a high school acquaintance who came to San Diego for a conference and we met for dinner.  When I picked her up from the hotel, she gave me the angel holding a dog.  She didn’t know how much I love dogs, so I love this little angel.  Each time I dust it, or look at it, I think of her.  I pray for the things I know of her.

I have a set of salt and pepper shakers that sit by my stove.  They are empty, but they are from Mexico and are from the pastor’s sister-in-law and brother-in-law.  This couple is a missionary family in Mexico.  So, each time I look at them, I pray for them, for their service and for their safety.

Each room holds things like these.  Every place I look I have reminders of the people in my life.  I do this on purpose.  It is a good reminder for me and although it seems like there is no rhyme or reason to my knick knacks, there is.

I have a friend in San Diego.  She has visited us here in Charleston a couple of times.  Her visits are long visits.  She likes to spend time here.  We travel to places around this area that she has never seen.  We make jam.  We cook.  We talk and play board games.  It is a fun time when she is here.

This friend loves dragon flies.  I have a painted glass with dragonflies all over it.  Yes, when I use it, I pray for her.

I haven’t talked with this friend in a while.  We do that, we have that kind of friendship.  We can go for months and months without talking or communicating with one another.

Lately though, I have had her on my mind.  Each time I walk outside I think of her.  This new place is a dragonfly sanctuary, I think.  There are dragonflies all over.  They really are pretty insects.  They fly around and land on my porch.  They fly right by my ears.

Today as I looked out my kitchen window at the pond I thought of her again.  There were dozens of dragonflies dancing over the top of the water.  They would float on the air and light on the pond for a minute and take off again.  I stood studying them for a while.  It was a beautiful dance I am glad I was able to witness.

It gave me a chance to thank God for the beauty He gives us when we take the time to look.  It also makes me think that I need to contact this friend soon…

Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your visit.  DAF

2 responses to “Dance of the Dragonflies….

  1. Susie says:

    I adored this post my DAF. It reminded me of a place in time that allowed me to look into a grove of trees and watch the summer fireflies signaling their availability for love to one another. I miss being able to see that in the location we are now. Oh I could still find them but I’d have to go further than my back yard to do so. I promise myself that before summer/fall is over I will do more gardening and create the sanctuary that provides homes for all God’s little creatures. And while I’m down on my knees, I’ll thank God for providing and caring for us too. Thank you for words that remind us of God’s nature and the beauty of friendship.

  2. I am so glad you liked this post… I wasn’t quite certain of it, but posted it anyhow. I hope this trip will give you a glimpse of some fireflies… I saw some when we were in PA last month. It was wonderful. Love you and have fun, I am so thankful for your friendship. See you soon! DAF

Let me know what you think!

