dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

The River…

on August 7, 2013

I think with each life there is something that is a constant.  Something that is part of our lives from childhood on.  For me, it is the Allegheny River.

The river runs through the center of our town.  As a child my Dad would take my sisters and I to the borough where he was born and grew up.  There is a place called Alcorn Island and there we would picnic and swim.  We would spend the day skipping rocks on the river, throwing rocks in the river and splashing around.

We could see the river from our front porch of the house I grew up in.  We would watch rain and storms coming up the river and know when it would hit our house.

In winter the river would ice over and in the spring there would be ice jams and flooding when the ice would eventually melt.  We watched the river rise and fall.

As a teen ager I watched the boy who is now my dear hubby race down the river in a canoe.  He won first place and I remember driving down roads watching the river to see where he was at any given moment.

The river is part of me.  It is something that welcomes me home as we drive into town.  It is something that follows me as I leave town.  It is a constant in my life.

When we drove to my class reunion, the river was on my left side.  Hubby and I talked about the river, as we usually do when we drive into town.  The river is up he says… I agree.  It is higher than I have seen in a long time he says… again, I agree.  It is a gentle moving conversation, sort of like the water flowing beside us.  It’s good to see the water high again.  This river was never meant to be able to be walked across like we saw it the last time we were home.  It’s banks were full and it looked healthy, if a river can look that way.

One of the days we were home was spent at the boat club on the river.  I spent the day marvelling at it.  It was a most relaxing day.  The river is a constant in my life.  It is a gift to me from our Father in heaven.  I know it is not just my gift, but I know how much it blesses me.

Here are some of the pictures of my river, I wanted to share with you.

107110112The Allegheny River at Rockmere, PA.

Thanks for stopping by today, I appreciate your visit.

The Lord is my shepherd;
I have all that I need.
2 He lets me rest in green meadows;
he leads me beside peaceful streams.
3     He renews my strength.  Psalm 23 (New Living Translation)

DAF

11 responses to “The River…

  1. Susie says:

    Do you remember when we talked about resting in the Lord? This piece is restful, satisfying, full. It’s an aah, it’s good to be home piece. I’m glad you had this time ~

  2. thank you friend! I was about to head to bed (like you) and decided to write, it has been rambling around my mind the past day or two and I had to get it onto the blog. Love you! Get some rest! 😉

  3. Susie says:

    Vance’s cousin, Connie, would like to read your blog. I’m sending her the link. She loves to write. I’m encouraging her to start a blog and told her about yours. I explained you use “triggers” but I’m sure you could talk to her much better than I about this type of blog. I know what you mean about getting the thoughts out while they are still fresh. I kept thinking about your words – even this morning. It was a very good piece.

  4. Kari Ann says:

    Love the pics, the Scripture at the end, at the whole feeling of this post…makes me want to go outside and find some peace away in the woods.

  5. thank you Susie, that is very kind of you. I am so glad you enjoyed this piece. I had such a wonderful day on the river. We hadn’t done that in years. It is such a peaceful place there, lots of summer homes and some year round homes, although I have no idea how they get out of the area in the winter! Thanks for everything. Love you!

  6. I am so glad! It was a wonderful day and brought back so many great memories of being raised in the area. Thanks for your comments, they are a blessing to me and bring me joy! DAF

  7. Janelle says:

    I would love to live near water. I always wished for a river, or even a creek, on our land. I love the “gentle moving conversation” description. Lovely.

  8. thank you Janelle, your comments mean so much to me. I love having you stop by and visit. hope you are well, resting and renewing… DAF

  9. Beautiful post, DAF and hello again. Not sure what happened but I only just discovered I dropped off your followers list. Here I thought you were taking a blogging break after the move. Hope you’ve had a wonderful summer. Love the new look for your blog xx.

  10. Wonderful post, DAF and hello again. I only just discovered that for some reason I dropped off your followers list. And herebibthought you were taking a blogging break. Hope you have been well. Love the new look for your blog ~ Judy

  11. It is good to hear from you! Thought maybe you were taking a blogging break also! so glad you liked the post. Think of you often, I am okay, have missed hearing from you. Thanks for stopping by! So glad you are following me again, don’t know how that happened. Take care and keep in touch!

Let me know what you think!

