dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Ahhhhhhhhh……

on March 26, 2013

 

Psalm 121

(New Living Translation)

1 I look up to the mountains—     does my help come from there? 2 My help comes from the Lord,     who made heaven and earth!

3 He will not let you stumble;     the one who watches over you will not slumber. 4 Indeed, he who watches over Israel     never slumbers or sleeps.

5 The Lord himself watches over you!     The Lord stands beside you as your protective shade. 6 The sun will not harm you  by day,  nor the moon at night.

7 The Lord keeps you from all harm and watches over your life. 8 The Lord keeps watch over you as you come and go,     both now and forever

We are on our way up to spend the Easter holiday with our daughter, our dear son-in-law and our grandson.  I am so excited to see them and to hold on to them and spend time catching up with them.

My hubby suggested we take a meandering trip up to visit them this time.  It seems an odd time to do this since we are in the process of moving and finding a new place to live.  At first, I balked, insisting there was too much to do and it was nonsense to spend money when so much of it would be going out of our pockets soon with moving.

Hubby stood his ground.  He quietly said he thought we should go.  He figured out a route that was not direct.  We ventured to the mountains for our first evening.  Obviously, I agreed with him on the trip.  I say this, since he didn’t bind and gag me to get me here.

I  shared the psalm above as this has gone through my mind most of the day.  It is a psalm I love.  Mostly because it talks of mountains, which I love.

Halfway through our trip today, hubby pointed ahead of us and said, “That is where we are going.”  Ahead of us, in the distance were mountains.  I knew this was our destination.  I forgot how mountains affect me.  I love mountains.  I love how they calm my spirit.

I realized halfway here that there was a smile on my face.  I couldn’t help myself.  It just appeared.  It grew when the snow flurries started.  I needed this time.  I feel rested.  It is a break from the necessary.  It is a respite.  I will go back refreshed.  I am so grateful for a man who sees what I fail to recognize.  He is a gift from our Lord.  Yes, he is frustrating and nerve-wracking at times, but he is my special gift from the Creator of all gifts.  Tonight, I am thankful and I wanted to share this with you all.

Thanks for stopping by.  DAF

12 responses to “Ahhhhhhhhh……

  1. Susie says:

    Rest in the Lord – both of you. Enjoy this journey. Can’t wait to see you and worship together again.

  2. We are looking forward to that also! Love you dear friend.

  3. Sometimes it’s not what’s right that gets us through, it’s going off course. Have a Blessed Easter with your family and of course the Prince.
    My nephew just rescued a puppy named Stella (feel free to imitate Marlen Brando). Talk about warming my heart..puppy kisses heal the soul.

  4. Did Stella move in with you? I am glad that her kisses started to heal you. Nothing like puppy breath and wet kisses to do that. Will have a good Easter, you too!

  5. Kari Ann says:

    The verses are beautiful and this story is beautiful…thank you for sharing :]

  6. Coming East says:

    So glad you got away, DAF. You do have a sweet hubby.

  7. he has his moments 😉 we had a wonderful time and visit. thanks for stopping by!

  8. This was such a sweet surprise. I loved reading that psalm. Feeling frightened at the moment so it soothed me…thank you.

  9. thanks for stopping by! I would love to be there right now, as the moving panic has set in and I am anything but ahhh right now. Maybe I need to reread it also! So thrilled you liked something of mine, I so enjoy your blog and writing!

  10. I loved it…it lifted my spirits. Panic is a terrible thing. One day at a time I think is in order for both of us.

  11. I think you are right… that, or a good stiff drink! 🙂

  12. I could go for that…a nice glass of Chanti 🙂

Let me know what you think!

