dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Touching my heart

on March 24, 2013

Yesterday as dear hubby and I were going out our front door a plastic grocery bag flew inside.  Hubby inquired about what it was and I threw it on the table and said I would look at it later.

We did our errand and when I came into the house I stopped to see what the bag was.  Inside the bag was a sheet of paper.  The paper was from a young man from a neighboring subdivision.  He explained that he was working towards making Eagle Scout and his project was collecting goods for a local food bank ministry.  Anyone wishing to take part was to fill the bag and leave it on our doorstep after four p.m. this afternoon.

At the bottom of the very nice letter were pictures of this young man.  He was in his boy scout uniform with all of his badges proudly shown.  He was also pictured in a wheelchair.  He is handicapped and looks like he spends his life with his chair.

Well, no matter if he were in the chair or a capable young man, both hubby and I agree that scouting is a good thing.  To attain the rank of Eagle Scout is incredible.  I know this, because, I married an Eagle Scout.  So, I filled up the bag and late this afternoon I put the bag on the doorstep.

I was standing in my dining room doing some things when activity caught my eye outside.  I stood at the window at 4:30 this afternoon to see several cub scouts, in uniform, going door to door picking up the bags.  There was a group of parents walking down the middle of the street, helping the cub scouts with the bags.  Behind all of this, a gentleman was driving a jeep towing a trailer.  The trailer was filled with canned good and bags and bigger boxes of food.

Tears came to my eyes as I watched this procession.  First, I thought of the generosity of the people in this area.  They freely give of themselves and what they have.  That was obvious looking at the trailer.  Secondly, I thought of this young man’s mother.  I am certain that whatever put that boy into the wheelchair was devastating.  I am certain she never thought she would see the day when her son accomplished such a feat.  Yet, he did.

So often we take for granted things around us.  We become discouraged when things don’t come easy for us.  I am so grateful that I saw that procession today.  It was a good kick in the pants for me.  It was a reminder to stay steadfast in my endeavors.  Life isn’t always easy.  But, it is worth each trial we face.

A good friend wrote a post today on her blog and she quoted this scripture.  I am going to borrow it as a reminder of what I need to think of and what I saw today for that young man in the area.  “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.   ~ Jeremiah 29:11

Thank you for stopping by today, this is my 100th post.  I really can’t believe I have written that many.  Thank you for your support and encouragement along the way.  I am doubly blessed this day.   DAF

5 responses to “Touching my heart

  1. Susie says:

    Sweet friend, we all need to hear those words because we forget. I loved what the new Pope told the people when he addressed them. The Lord never forgets to forgive. We just get weary and stop asking for forgiveness (paraphrased). We do the same thing with our plans. It’s not that we mean to, it’s because we’re human. I need to remember to ask for forgiveness for going my own way through out the day! Happy 100th post! You’re Amazing!! XO

  2. thank you for posting the scripture first! You are so encouraging to me in so many ways, cannot wait to hug you later this week. Thank you for being you.

  3. Happy 100th post DAF! This was such a wonderful message, one I try to remember daily. Some days it’s just necessary to pause and be amazed.

  4. Janelle says:

    This is so touching and encouraging! Thank you for giving me positive things to think on this morning.

Let me know what you think!

