dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Monday nights ~ Books, Fast Food and Ladies

on March 12, 2013

9 Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed. 10 If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble. 11 Likewise, two people lying close together can keep each other warm. But how can one be warm alone? 12 A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.  

~ Ecclesiastes 4: 9-12 (New Living Translation)

 

I used to be an avid reader.  I could devour a couple of books a week with absolutely no problem.  I loved reading.  Over the past twenty years, though, my reading has been sporadic at best.  I still love to read, but somehow, actually sitting still long enough to read is a bit much for me.

Currently, I am in the middle of several books and I confess, it has been so long since I picked some of them up, I really do need to start them over.  I am not proud of this fact.  I once read that a good writer reads, alot.   I love to read.  I love the idea of reading.  The quieting of the mind and body to sit, feel the paper of the pages.  To smell the book and relax.  To fill your mind with words of authors who have spent time and energy and creative life bringing the printed word to me.

I have wanted to be one of those authors to create a book.  I have had a story printed.  That was very exciting, to pick up a magazine and see my name and my words in it.  To know that people all over had gotten that magazine, had actually sat down and were reading what I had to say.  It was an incredible feeling.

Not allowing myself to sit and read has been something I have wanted to change for a while.  I need to do this, for myself.  I no longer have small children around to keep me occupied elsewhere.  Of course, when my children were little, I still managed to read books, lots of them.  I am not referring to children’s books either, although I had several of those memorized.

Recently the women in our church decided to form a book club.  I readily joined in.  I knew this would be a vehicle to prompt me to relearn the art of reading.  The book club meets on Monday night at a local fast food restaurant.  We pull the tables together and we each order whatever it is we want.  (Last night everyone seemed to hit the ice cream specials)  I usually have a cup of decaf and settle in for the discussion.

Each week has proved a bit different.  We talk over the food and then we discuss the book.  Most of the women do not like the author’s take on this self-help book chosen.  We each have our own ideas of how he could have stated things differently.  But, we all agree that what he is saying and getting to is well worth the read.

In between the discussion on the book there are snippets of conversation of what we are going through.  I find this even more encouraging.  Last night, the girls all listened while I talked about a bad day.  They loved on me, made me laugh and bolstered my spirit.  I came home refreshed, and renewed.  In between the words, the discussion and the banter, I have discovered a group of friends.  A surprise to me in many ways as they are all younger than me, several the age of my youngest daughter.  Yet, there in the midst of a fast food restaurant there has come a spirit of friendship that surpasses age and experience.

I am grateful for this little group.  I am grateful for the laughter and the ties that are forming.  I am grateful that I am once more enjoying the written word and find myself excited again to sit and read.  I have so many books that I have seen sitting around my home waiting to be opened.  Waiting to be enjoyed and waiting to be used.  Thank you ladies for helping me discover the joy in reading something longer than an article or two.

Thank you for stopping by today,  DAF

2 responses to “Monday nights ~ Books, Fast Food and Ladies

  1. That sounds like a lot fun DAF. I like that the group is mixed (especially younger) that adds a wonderful flavor. Also, kudos to getting a nod in a magazine, that is incredible.
    I’m doing a little better now that I’m back to work. The mornings are tough for me and coming home to no tail wagging is horrible. My son is having a hard time, but finally opened up today which made us feel better. Thanks so much for all your good thoughts…they’re working.

  2. I have been thinking of you all week long. Every time Shugo does something I think of you. I hope the week continues to improve. I can only imagine how difficult this is for you. I will continue to remember you in my thoughts and prayers.

Let me know what you think!

