dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

What a year it has been…

on January 27, 2013

A couple of days ago I got a little message congratulating me on having registered with Word Press a year ago.

I remember that night well…
It was another sleepless night and I was restless, not wanting to stay in bed. My thoughts were bouncing all over the universe, praying, thinking, planning and just being frustrated at not sleeping. In behind all of that action in my mind was something lurking there. Peeking out from behind a half said prayer. Gazing up from a mental check list. Throwing something into my thoughts. I left my bed, and headed downstairs. I pulled my laptop onto my lap. I checked email. I checked Facebook. I checked my bank account. I played a few games. Nothing was helping lure me to sleep.

I turned to my friend google. Staring at the screen, I wondered what I really did want to search for. Nothing came to mind. All of a sudden, that little thing lurking in the background jumped out and became a nuisance. It taunted me. It made snide remarks in my brain. It would not disappear.

What was this bother? It was a memory of a drive from D.C. to the low country. That drive when I didn’t turn on music and didn’t listen to an audio book. It was the drive where I thought of a blog. A blog where I was anonymous. I had imagined showing images of a part of me. A blog where I talked of my family, showing partial pictures of them. It was a great blog in my mind. But, once I pulled into my driveway and unpacked the car, I put my thoughts into that dark closet where we hide most of our ambitions and ideas.

A year ago, that closet broke its hinges and out came that lurking obnoxious idea.

So, in looking at the google search page I wrote blogging. Several sites came up. Word Press stood out. I hesitantly clicked on it. I read a bit and then I actually signed up. I can remember looking around my darkened living room that was only lit from my lap top screen. I was hoping no one was looking in the shaded windows to see me sign up for a blog.

I did sign up. I actually wrote something. I closed the computer and went to bed. I smiled to myself that I actually did something in the dark of the night and only I and Word Press knew about it.

The next day dawned. I said nothing about creating a blog. I didn’t log on. For two weeks I did nothing. Finally, I did return. I read what I had written. I found the edit button. I deleted the post. Whew! At least no one read it. This was going to be harder than I imagined. Stupid nagging thought…

Several weeks later I returned, this time determined. I began to write. Eventually, I had my first follower. I was amazed that anyone would read something of mine and actually leave comments.

So, now it has been a year. This blog is still evolving. I am still striving to write something meaningful, humorous, life changing. At least now I don’t panic and my hands don’t shake when typing. As I have often said, I am a work in progress and this blog reflects this.

Thank you to all of you who have made this year of blogging so wonderful. A year ago I didn’t know you, you weren’t a part of my life. Now, you are. I look forward to seeing who has written what. You have allowed me into your lives and have indeed blessed me. Thank you Word Press for giving me a voice. I am grateful.

Thanks for stopping by. Your visits mean so much to me. DAF

10 responses to “What a year it has been…

  1. crozell25 says:

    I love to see real comments on my posts. I think that is the most frustrating part of a blog. There are many people out there that have the same thoughts and interests as yourself. I think that having a voice matters even if no one reads your post. Keep them coming.

  2. thanks for stoppping by, appreciate your comments! DAF

  3. I’m so glad you broke those hinges and allowed us to be part of your virtual family!

  4. thank you, I am so glad you swung by today and commented. I appreciate you, DAF

  5. Happy bloggiversary, DAF! So glad that WordPress has allowed us to connect across the miles. Keep on blogging and writing, it’s a joy to read you xx.

  6. I was just thinking of you. Hope all is well. Thank you for stopping by, I am so glad I have gotten to meet you virtually… you are a blessing to me.

  7. Janelle says:

    You are one year old! Congratulations and happy birthday. Yay for being brave and stepping out into something new. Look at the blessings it has brought you! And us!

  8. I am so grateful for being able to ‘meet’ you and be a part of your life. Thanks for stopping by today, I love hearing from you.

  9. Dawn says:

    You make me laugh, you make me cry, and sometimes you even make me think. Congrats DAF on your one year anniversary! I continue to look forward to reading and relating to your blogs.

  10. thanks! have been thinking of you and need to just call and hear your voice. Love you!

Let me know what you think!

