dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

gag me now….

on January 26, 2013

Did you ever have one of those days? You know those type where just saying you woke up on the wrong side of the bed doesn’t really describe it?

That has been my day today. I shouldn’t have just gone back to bed this morning, I should have been locked up, bound, gagged and knocked out so that I couldn’t open my mouth at all. Yes, it has been that kind of day.

I didn’t set out for it to be like that.  I woke up, took the dog for a short walk because we had bought tickets for a pancake breakfast for our neighbor’s youth group fund-raiser this morning.  Pancake breakfasts are never really great, food wise, anyhow.  But, off we went.  It was nice, we know our neighbors appreciated our being there.  Their son was proud of the fact that we came and we encouraged him in all he was doing.  He is just now starting middle school and beginning to become involved in all that will continue through high school.  He is at that awkward age where he is still a kid, but not really.

So, we went and ate and talked and left.  That is where I should have been put into the closet and gagged.  Maybe it was the real coffee that I drank that was the problem.  I haven’t had caffeine in a few months and I had a large coffee with my pancakes.  Maybe that is where I went wrong.  I don’t know.

But, it was one of those  days.  Where whatever I said was either wrong, taken wrong or just not spoken well.  Trying to fend it all off, I cleaned the house, did the laundry, fixed the pot luck dish for church tomorrow and tried to overcome.  No success.

We did an errand and I returned and managed to continue in the downhill spiral.  If I was at an amusement park, it would have been a great ride.  But, alas, it was no roller coaster experience ~ it was just one of those days.

I went into the shower to get cleaned up and to pray and cry and try to overcome.  I did get clean, I did all that I thought I would, but the over coming was not to be had.

We met at a friend’s house late this afternoon.  They had received tickets for four for an oyster roast on the water this evening,  and we had made desserts to share after the roast.  The silence on the ride over was deafening and as we waited to be let into the house my poor hubby was being glared at by whatever had over taken me.

The oyster roast was crowded and nice.  Personally, I don’t eat oysters, they sort of gross me out.  Fortunately hot dogs and chili was available and they were wonderful.  We watched a beautiful sunset over the water and somehow that helped.

Dessert and conversation by the fire at our friend’s house was delightful.  I laughed.  I laughed some more.  I began to feel like my gross, grumpy shell was melting away.

Getting into the car, I looked at my hubby and remarked that maybe, just maybe we really needed to get out into the world a bit more.  We even saw a family of deer prance beside the car  and into the wooded areas around our friend’s house.

There was a full moon, and somehow, this day which has been one of those days, was over.  Maybe we all need those kinds of days to make us realize how wonderful our normal days are.  Maybe we need to have those days to rid us of pent-up frustration and fears and anger.  Or, just maybe, the chocolate mint pie is really a mood changer and I should have had it for breakfast.

Proverbs 15:13

A glad heart makes a happy face;  a broken heart crushes the spirit.  (New Living Translation)
Thanks for stopping by and listening to my rant…   DAF
2 responses to “gag me now….

  1. I’m glad your day ended on a happy note. I think we’ve all been there at one time or another. Recognizing it’s wrong is half the battle, knowing chocolate mint pie can make it better is priceless.

  2. hopefully, today will be different… but just in case, I still have some leftover pie!

Let me know what you think!

