dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Safe

on January 15, 2013

Last night was one of those sleepless nights. I went to bed shortly after midnight and I got back up a little after 2 a.m.. My dear hubby gave up after 3:30 a.m. and I was still up.

At first I was half heartedly looking at Facebook and watching an old Sean Connery movie.  The movie was much more interesting than what was going on in the world of Facebook.  Soon, the movie ended, I gave up on Facebook and for some reason I was winning all my games of solitaire.

I decided to go over to my blog and see if anyone was reading mine.  Of course, they weren’t.  It was either the middle of the night or the middle of the day so most sane people were asleep or working.  I played around with buttons and tabs I had never hit before, just to see what they would produce.  I toyed with writing something, but although I was awake, my brain was not functioning.

There was a link that said, ‘inspire me’.  I hit that.  It was for a picture that I  couldn’t see for some reason.  The title of the picture was Safe, and there was a prompt of a safe.  Still, no inspiration, or maybe because the sun was almost up and I should have been asleep!

So, now, this morning, (late morning, I realize, but it is still before noon) the word safe is rambling around my foggy mind.

What is the meaning of safe to me?  When do I feel safe?  How do I know I am safe?

Without looking up the word, when I think of safe (aside from baseball, which I love) I think security, protection, peace.

I know I feel safe when I am in my home.  When I look around at the familiar.  When I see photos of my family.  When I am surrounded by memories.  That is when I feel safe.

I know I am safe when there is no panic in my being.  When my heart is not racing and I am at ease.  When I don’t look around and wonder where there is a corner for me to hang out in.  When I can be myself.

Today I am safe.  I feel safe.  I am safe.

As I was walking my little pup today I realized that I felt so secure that I didn’t even look to see if anyone was behind me.  My neighborhood is a throwback to the 1950’s so I could be certain that there was no one around.  But, this also, made me think of being safe.

All my ramblings on this word brought me to one conclusion, and it is one that I have gone to often.  I am safe because I have put my trust in God.  He is my safety net.  He is the One who watches over and protects me.  People can fail me and I can fail others.  I let people down, and I allow myself to be disappointed.  But, the One who is my faithful friend, my Comfort and my Security is the One I have never seen face to face.

So, to me, to be safe is to have faith.  Here is a part of one of my favorite Bible verses: Psalm 91:1-2 from the New Living Translation:

Those who live in the shelter of the Most High
will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
2 This I declare about the Lord:
He alone is my refuge, my place of safety;
he is my God, and I trust him.

Thank you for stopping by today and reading my ramblings.  I appreciate your visit, DAF

2 responses to “Safe

  1. Amen to that DAF! It’s amazing how one little 4 letter word can have so much power. Loved the post, now get some sleep!

  2. thanks! so appreciate you stopping by and I always love your comments. DAF

Let me know what you think!

