dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Pacifier Days

on October 17, 2012

This week my daughter went back to work.  Not a big deal, right?  Unless of course, you are leaving your precious little one for the first time.  I have the honor and privilege of being able to be in town with her for the first few weeks to watch my precious little grandson.

I am proud of my daughter and her husband.  They are working to be a good parenting team.  They are also working on being a great family.  I think they are succeeding on both accounts.

One thing that has stood out to me the past couple days is how, at times, my beloved little guy is in desperate need of his pacifier.  He cries for it.  He turns his little head waiting to feel the rubbery (or whatever material it is) piece in his little mouth.  He closes his little eyes when it hits his mouth and he is satisfied.  It is comfort for when the tummy is full, but the need to suck on something is still there.

I think we all need pacifier days.  For those days when nothing is going as planned.  We are at odds with the world, and the world is winning.  Those are times, I think, when pacifiers should be available to all.  Wouldn’t that be something?

I have thought on this for the past couple days.  The phrase, we all have need of a pacifier now and then, has echoed in my mind.  Mental images of grown men in business suits sucking on a pacifier has also crossed my mind.  That wouldn’t work, but I think we need to find what our “pacifier” is in hard times.  When the world turns against us and we need that instant comfort, what do you turn to?

Just a random thought of mine that I have written for you to ponder over.  Thanks for stopping by, as always, DAF

8 responses to “Pacifier Days

  1. Susie says:

    Wonderful, and thought provoking piece tonight my friend. I read this to Biggie and we both smiled at the end of it. We could use a pacifier right now — and our jammers. In fact last night we were both so worked up we let ourselves be lured to alter of emotional eating when we both got into the car in our jammers and went through the drive-thru. To often in life I find I look for the quick fix to soothe the ragged edges of emotion (usually involves sugar). Mental image of women walking around with candy necklaces. That wouldn’t work either. What we need is the bread of life, and living water to quench the thirst of hearts heavy with the burdens of life.

  2. I remember thinking my son was in some sort of relationship with his pacifier, no doubt he was in love. My daughter wouldn’t take it…ever. It does make you wonder. As for me..carbs would be my pacifier of choice. I’m starting to think my waste line would be better served with looking ridiculous with a regular pacifier. Glad to know you’re enjoying the little man!

  3. exactly! been thinking of you, and if I could I would wrap you in a big blankie and soothe you, but since that is ridiculous, I am just praying. Love you.

  4. he is just too precious, if that is possible. His little smiles and twinkly eyes make my days as sweet as possible, he has been a huge pacifier for me, just holding him in my arms. Thanks for stopping by. BTW, I had two that had differing opinions on pacifiers also, my oldest was old enough to logically reason with her and then pry it out of her mouth, and my youngest, perferred her thumb. Thanks again! hope you are having a better week. Thinking of you.

  5. Janelle says:

    So happy you get to be there to help ease the transition for your little family. My boys were all “soother” babies, and “soother” toddlers, to tell the truth! I loved the image of grown men with pacifiers in their mouths! You have me pondering what my “pacifier” might be, the thing that brings instant comfort and satisfaction. I know I love the feeling of sitting down on my sofa, family around, at the end of a long day.

  6. it is wonderful to be here and to see little changes taking place, like different noises he makes daily. I think for Moms there is nothing more comforting than to be in the middle of our families at the end of any day… thanks for checking in, love it when you stop by!

  7. Coming East says:

    How wonderful that you get to bond with the little guy! I was the pacifier for my kids. I didn’t work outside the home, so we were always together, and the were always “plugged in.” I think my pacifier is salt and vinegar chips.

  8. mine is any type of chip!! It was a wonderful time to be with the baby, my daughter is his pacifier during the afternoon. I know she would love to be able to be with him all the time. I stayed home with mine also, it’s the best.

Let me know what you think!

