dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

It’s All in How You Look at It

on September 21, 2012

Last week I read a post from a fellow blogger about her recent airline trip.  It was filled with humor and I enjoyed reading it.  Mostly because I was about to have my own airline trip to see my precious grandson.  I read the post last Friday and thought about it through the weekend.  My flight was for this past Tuesday morning.

Tuesday morning I got up early and eagerly to get ready to make the short flight up to see my little precious.  My dear hubby got me to the airport, I checked my bag, and got to my gate.  Piece of cake.  No problem.  The time approached, and as I stood to get into the queue to board the plane, I texted everyone to say I was about to board.  Again, piece of cake.  No post here.

As we were all standing in line the announcement came on.  You know, those announcements where you hear every third word even though the people speaking are no more than 10 feet away from you.  They are the  ones who have graduated from the drive through windows to speaking into the microphone at airports.

I stood and listened.  (It could be my ears)  I heard, Ladies and Gentlemen, something about a gate, something more and then I actually heard,  we will know more in an hour and until then, please take your seats and we will work hard to make sure you get to your destination.

That woke me up!  It appears that Baltimore was having some weather issues and runway issues and by that point several of my fellow passengers were just having issues!  I sat in my chair boastfully thinking that I was above all of this, I had plenty of time.  I looked beside me and saw a young woman with two young boys in tow.  She was patient and gentle with them.  She told them to go look out the windows to see the planes, only to make sure to hold onto each other’s hands.  They were well-behaved boys, very cute.  The woman smiled at me and explained that this was their first trip to the airport and their first flight.

From eavesdropping on the conversation these boys and this woman were having, I concluded that she was their aunt and they were going on an extended trip to stay with various relatives.  Photos were being taken for Mommy and Daddy and since we live in a military town, I am assuming that both Mommy and Daddy were deployed or deploying somewhere.

After an hour, where, I do confess, I did not keep positive (well, they were cutting into Grandma time!?!)  we began to board.  I ended up sitting in front of this trio, the aunt and two nephews.  The aunt was patiently and very cleverly explaining the take off process, the seat belts, the life jackets, the oxygen masks and what was in the seat pocket in front of them.  She showed them the fold down tables and even instructed them that if they played with the tables it would shake the person in front of them.  She did this by taking the back of the boys seats and shaking them so that they would know what it would feel like to have someone kicking them through the trip.  I thought that one was very smart!

You could tell all the other passengers were anxious to get on with their business.  It was the attitude we all can have when travelling.  Just get me there and get me off the plane.

As we started to taxi to the runway the boys, in unison began a sing-song, that grew with excitement, “We’re on a plane… we’re on a plane!” At first, it was quiet, but then they could not control themselves.  I looked around and the passengers who had thought that, but not singing that phrase started to smile.  They turned. and in an instant, you could see the plane full of people catch on to the enthusiasm of these novice flyers.    As we took off, squeals of excited laughter came from the seats behind me.  It was so much fun to listen to them.

They quieted as we reached altitude and then the descriptions of what they could see started to emerge.  I found myself looking more closely out the window and I, also, could see the cloud trees,  clouds that looked like a forest below us.

I spent the flight thinking how we can lose our joy over the simple things we take for granted.  I loved looking at the clouds and the sky on my flight.  It had been a while since I actually looked out the windows to see the glory of the skies.

The weather was bad in Baltimore, landing was a bit shaky.  One of the boys had fallen asleep and missed the turbulence, but when I saw them exit the airport, they were full of stories and well on their way to new adventures.

This week as I have watched my dear children with their dear child, I have thought of these boys and what their week has been like.  Families are so important.  Especially for those who serve our country, families to step in and help and love and care for.  I hope that the adventures continue for these two boys, that this time will be filled with love and comfort and that loneliness is small.

I am enjoying the time with my precious little grandson.  He is all smiles and joy and my heart laughs when I look at him.  I am grateful for the life lesson I learned on my way up to Baltimore.  Excitement and adventures go hand in hand.

Thanks for stopping by, as always, DAF

7 responses to “It’s All in How You Look at It

  1. Janelle says:

    Thank you for this reminder to find joy – in family, in experiences, in the view! Enjoy you grandma time. I know you are!

  2. thank you Kari Ann, that means a lot to me. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Absolutely perfect for me. It is what you make it, it’s that easy. I was hoping the passengers broke out in song with the little ones, maybe a dance routine as well. Hope you got to hog your little grandson for the entire stay.

  4. I am being spoiled by his little smiles and babbles, he loves to talk and I love his stories. I am having the time of my life!

  5. Coming East says:

    I’m so happy you’re having more time with your little guy, DAF. That aunt was a special person because too often we see adults get impatient with kids at the airport, and then the flight is usually unpleasant for everyone. Glad it turned into such a nice experience. Enjoy your time being Grandma.

  6. I went to the airport thinking of your post and how fun it was to read. Never thought I would have something to write about from my flight. I have enjoyed my time, am leaving tomorrow. My arms will miss my little man.

Let me know what you think!

