dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Delicate Boldness in the middle of a hard spot

on August 10, 2012

During our trip to Gettysburg a month ago, I tried to capture the beautiful landscape of my beloved Pennsylvania.   Upon entering the state I immediately felt a calmness come over me that only happens when I arrive there.  No other state in the wonderous union of ours has touched my soul like Pennsylvania.

As you may remember, we decided to spend three days exploring the battlefield in Gettysburg.  My dear hubby loves this area and is fascinated by the battle that was waged there.  I told him he could walk and take as many pictures as he wanted.  We had a great time walking up hills and exploring pathways we had never ventured on.  It was a memorable three days for the two of us.

As I was waiting at a stop for hubby to return to the car, I came upon this site.  It caught my eye and I knew there was a post in it.

How do flowers have the boldness to come up through rock?  They are delicate and beautiful, yet they have the ability to stay so after making a tough journey.  It occurred to me that often, in tough times, I fail to have the grace I am capable of having.

Seasons come in life and often times they feel hard, difficult, sort of like a huge boulder of granite.  We have choices to make when blindsided by difficulties.  We can disappear under the weight, either being crushed or left to perish, or we can forge ahead.  We can use the strength given to us by our Creator.  We can see the obstacle, put our roots down into the soil and push our way upwards.  It may not be easy, but with the help of our Lord and the encouragement of family and friends we can carry out our goal.

When we finally break through the difficulty we can actually show grace and beauty.  Our appearance my look delicate, but what is inside us is bold, strong, ready to gain ground.  Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  We can break through hard rocky times and emerge with grace, boldness and an inner strength that defies our outward appearance.

Thank you for stopping by today, I love your visits.  DAF

8 responses to “Delicate Boldness in the middle of a hard spot

  1. It’s great to capture miracles in nature. I love the analogy, very true.

  2. thanks! I always appreciate your comments, they make my day!

  3. It is a lovely description of the meaning behind the photo. Sounds like Pennsylvania did your soul some good.

  4. The trip up was so wonderful and I think the whole trip was a shot in the arm. Thanks for stopping by, I look forward to hearing from you. Hope you are having a wonderful evening/night/ very early morning!

  5. Well written thoughts to ponder. Very nice post.

  6. thanks Susie! Love you!

  7. Coming East says:

    That has always been one of my favorite verses, DAF. It is empowering. What a lovely post you wrote.

  8. thank you Coming East. It was a life verse I gave to my oldest and she keeps it on her through all of her trials in life. I appreciate your stopping by.

Let me know what you think!

