dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Life Changing Adventure

on July 2, 2012

This week my dear hubby and I will embark on our life changing adventure.  We will be travelling a bit and staying still a bit and sight-seeing a bit.  In between those bits we will go to a wedding and our lives will be changed in acquiring a new niece that day.  I already consider her my niece as she has dated my nephew for a long time.  She didn’t take long in finding a place in my heart as when I first met her she had her arm stuck in my sister’s stove.  Yes, you read that right.  I walked into my sister’s home to visit and there on the floor was my niece and another girl (I will call K).  Baking pans were strewn  around the bottom of the oven part of the stove (where there is a storage drawer for such things).  My niece jumped up and greeted me and then introduced the girl with her arm lodged in the storage drawer.  K looked up at me, smiled and we all started laughing.  Thus, she found her way into my heart.  It seems before I had come in, my niece and her soon to be sister in law were in the process of making brownies for my visit.  A baking pan got cock-eyed in the drawer and trying to get it unstuck , K put her arm into the mess and got stuck herself.  My niece got several of the pans out-of-the-way, but it didn’t help much.  I dropped my  bags and went over to add my two cents to the dilemma.    We managed to get K’s arm free and that was the beginning of a lovely relationship with my nephew’s girl.  This coming Saturday she will be married and become a legal part of our family.  I am so excited for this day as it has been at least six years since she had her arm stuck in the oven drawer.

After the wedding, Hubby and I are heading to Gettysburg, PA. .  We love this area and have visited there often.  My dear hubby takes tons and tons of pictures each time we visit.  Our visits are usually squeezed between other stops.  We have never had a full day there and this time we will be there for at least 3 days.  I told him he could photograph each and every monument of the battlefield down to the boots of each general memorialized.  I may live to regret that statement, but I am determined to give him this time to thoroughly enjoy this segment of the trip.

After that, we will head to my sister’s home and visit a few more days.  We will be able to talk about her son’s wedding and just catch up, as only sister’s can.  I am looking forward to sitting around her kitchen table, talking and drinking a glass or two of wine.

From there (if all goes as planned) we will head down to await the birth of our grandson and visit museums that we have long thought of going to.

This is all the itinerary I have in my mind.  All of this could change in a minute if our little baby decides to come early.  Ultimately, he is in charge of this entire trip.  We are at his beck and call.  Our cell phones are on high alert and we go nowhere without them.

I have thought of this trip so lovingly, in my mind it is laced with sweet lullabies and little flower petals drifting down from the sky in slow motion.  There is a quietness to the adventure, it is a wonderful day-dream.  Unfortunately, it is a trip, and like most trips there are frustrations and times of loud groaning and complaining.

My dear hubby could not find the brake pads he needed to replace.  He had them a week ago and couldn’t find them until this morning.  He made his frustration known.  In fact I am certain you all must have heard him complaining.   The weather has not co operated, it has been so hot that I am certain even hell must seem like a tropical resort.  Other things have popped up on the radar unexpectedly, but they are what I consider the norm in the scheme of things.

The feelings I have battled today have caused me confusion.  One on hand I have not so lovingly thought of giving my husband a flight to the wedding without the use of an airplane.  Sort of like Ralph on the Honeymooners, “Pow!  To the moon Alice…”  Only his name is not Alice and I seriously would not do this however much I am tempted…

I know, by the time we leave we will have several times of frustration and flared tempers, but I also know that once on the road, calm will prevail and eventually we will even smile at each other.

It amazes me that we look forward to vacations and journeys with such anticipation.  We plan, we dream, we make lists, we count down days.  Then it approaches and the flood gates burst open with flooding of emotions all over the place.  I often wonder why this is.  Is it because we are anxious to get going?  Is it because we really do need a rest and break and it’s not coming soon enough?  Am I the only one to experience upheaval before a trip? I certainly hope not.

One thing is certain, this adventure will change our lives.  We leave as parents and friends, we will return with new titles that will forever be with us, Grandparents.  Has a lovely ring to it, doesn’t it?

I plan to take my camera and document our trip with pictures.  It is also my hope to blog while we are gone.  I have great plans, now I just need to get them going.

Thank you for stopping by, as always, DAF

13 responses to “Life Changing Adventure

  1. Coming East says:

    What a wonderful road trip, DAF! How marvelous to be adding someone to the family whom you already adore. That’s how we felt when we got our daughter-in-law. And first-time grandparents! Nothing like it! We are excited because my daughter is sending our fourteen-year-old granddaughter to us for a week, and I get to go shopping with her for her first homecoming dress. She enters high school this fall. Make sure you post pictures of that grandbaby! Blessings!

  2. As soon as my daughter and son-in-law post pictures, I will also. I am excited to meet him. Have fun with your granddaughter, high school dances are so much fun to shop for. I am certain she is going to love the time spent with you. I will post pictures along the way. Thanks for checking in! DAF

  3. Kari Andrews says:

    Love this post–you are so funny :] Have a lovely trip and congrats on soon becoming grandparents!

  4. Thank you Kari for stopping by. I am very blessed to have you read my posts. I have enjoyed your writing for a while and it is a blessing to have you read mine. Thanks for stopping by! DAF

  5. Kari Andrews says:

    No problem–you’re a very interesting writer so it’s my pleasure to read what you share. Darren and I are taking a trip in October to North Carolina and Missouri to meet a new nephew (his side) and a new niece (my side). We can’t wait to see family and squeeze babies so I understand the excitement about your trip :]

  6. That is quite a trip! I love North Carolina, it is a beautiful state. I know you will love on those babies. They are just so precious and mostly smell so sweet. I will look forward to reading about your adventures. Thank you for your comments. I am humbled by them. I love your blog and I have used your blog as an example of what I would like my blog to be. So, this is a compliment to me and again, thank you.

  7. What a wonderful post! I did laugh out loud regarding your soon to be nieces hand being in the stove…lol. First impressions are always so memorable as yoga re about to find out when you meet your grandson. It really is exciting!! My children LOVE my mother. I was fortunate to life close and saw her every day when the kiddies were little. They would tell me “you were lucky to have a grand mom as a mom” … Yes I was, however that woman who calls herself “grand mom” is not the same woman who raised me…lol ENJOY your journey.

  8. We are always raised by MOMS and they are a different breed than Grandmas.

    A arm stuck in a stove was a wonderful first meeting, just my kind. I would rather get to know someone while laughing hysterically than being prim and proper any time! Thanks for the comment, I love hearing from you. I think of you almost daily and usually end up praying for a good day for you. You are a blessing. DAF

  9. I can feel your excitement through your words. It all sounds wonderful and I am hoping you are going to post some of your hubby’s pictures so we can all enjoy your jounryey. All of those minor frustrations will seem like a distant memory when you are on your way surrounded by open road and adventre, family and new grandson. Wishing you safe and happy travels :).

  10. thanks so much, I am taking my beat up camera also and I am hoping to blog and post pictures on the way. I always appreciate you stopping by, and I look forward to seeing more of your photos. Hope you are having a restful night! DAF

  11. Janelle says:

    I hope you have a wonderful trip! I love traveling with my family although the preparation time is always exhausting. It’s so nice to finally get in the vehicle and drive out of the yard! And early congratulations on your grandbaby!

  12. thank you so much Janelle. Doing the last couple loads of laundry and will pack in the morning before we leave. Hope your family is doing well and again, I am so very sorry for the loss of your puppy.

Let me know what you think!

