dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

The Bane Of My Existence

on June 19, 2012

There are few things that really get to me.  Most times I am easy-going and can handle most things thrown at me.  At least, that is how I perceive myself, I may be way off in left field, but, don’t tell me otherwise.  I like living in the land of delusion.  The voices in my head and I get along well, so this is my story and I am sticking to it.

There is one thing, though, that I cannot and will not like.  I know hate is a very strong word and emotion, but this is what I feel.  What, you ask could spark such a tirade?  It is easy…. mosquitoes.

This winter was a very mild one.  We had maybe a couple of days of real cold, but for the most part it was only light jacket weather.  Because of this weather phenomenon, the mosquitoes from last summer never died.  They thrived.  They multiplied.  They joined forces with other mosquitoes.  They banned together and made a war plan.  While I had some moments of sleep, one came in and painted a bull’s eye on me.  It is a large bulls eye, only visible to mosquitoes.  I can’t wash it off and spray does no good.  I am doomed.

I walk my dear puppy, who, by the way gets a magic pill that protects him against said pests, and they land on him, but do not bother him.  They treat him like a taxi, they land and he brings them to their destination – my home.

Each time I go out of my house I can count on at least 5 or 6 more bites.  I am covered, literally, covered in bites.  I am going to a wedding in a couple of weeks and have determined I need either a long sun dress or pants to wear, because my legs will detract from the beautiful bride.  People will be aghast looking at the welts on my legs.

I am now known as that crazy neighbor who walks her dog and slaps herself as she does it.  Take a step, slap! Take another step and slap a different place.  Heaven forbid when they fly up and inside of my tee shirts, I just look demented then.

Well, that was my rant for the month.  Had to get it out while I scratch my head, legs, arms, well, you get the idea.  Just for further information, I have tried several different sprays, lotions, soaps, food, dryer sheets and nothing works.  My dear hubby says I am sweet meat… hmm… don’t know if I agree with that.  So, if any of you hear the legend of the jittery slap happy woman walking her dog, know that it is me, just trying to get some exercise and walk my puppy.

mosquito_cartoon

Hope you all have a great day.  What is the bane of your existence?  DAF

 

14 responses to “The Bane Of My Existence

  1. Coming East says:

    Aaarrgghhh! I hate mosquitos, too. I am like a magnet to them. Citronella doesn’t help a bit and I can’t stand those DEET sprays. Makes you want to stay inside…but you’re right. That’s no help because they follow you inside. When you find a remedy, let me know.

  2. I was hoping someone would suggest something to me that was different. Since writing this, I have gotten about 4 more, just cleaning off our outdoor table. I was outside not even 5 minutes. It’s ridiculous. How are you feeling? How’s the foot?

  3. I am a walking, talking mosquito buffet! My husband NEVER gets bit…hello, because they are feasting over here at the buffet!

  4. No practical advice, DAF but I can tell you that you and I must be the juicy ones, because if there are six people sitting outside in a group, you can guarantee that I will be the only one bitten. Good luck!

  5. Coming East says:

    Foot is still broken. It’s been nearly two weeks. You think it would be completely healed by now! Thanks for asking, DAF.

  6. so sorry you are a walking buffet. my hubby gets bit, but once every so often. Love your comment, thanks for the laugh!

  7. maybe if we stand together we would only get half the bites? have a great day!

  8. I think they usually take a good six weeks, have patience, it will be so much better once it is healed. I know it is hard to be still and not have your regular schedule, I’m sorry. Did you get your kitchen floor fixed yet? hope you don’t have to look at that while you are recouperating. Thinking of you.

  9. Susie says:

    Great post DAF. I wonder if it’s a gal/guy kinda thing? They bite us and leave the guys alone? You painted a very funny picture my friend. Add a bug zapper around your neck while walking and we’ve got a comic strip! *laughing*

  10. bug zapper necklace, that could work for the wedding as an accessory… hmmm have to look into that, do you think they have them in colors?

  11. diannegray says:

    These are great comments – I love the thought of the bug zapper necklace! 😀

  12. this was a fun post. When I read your post today, I thought of this one. Thank you for stopping by, hope the mosquitoes calm down. You are having quite the heat wave now, aren’t you?

  13. diannegray says:

    It’s not so bad where I am in the tropics because we’re getting the monsoon trough at the moment and it’s raining. Further south is a nightmare and they are having bushfires and heatwaves. That’s where my family lives so I’m keeping in close touch with them all. So far all good with them (air-conditioning is a life saver) 😀

  14. hope all stay safe for the rest of the summer months for you. We are getting below freezing tonight, which I like, not a heat person. Thanks again for checking in.

Let me know what you think!

