dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

The Lost Art of Loyalty

on May 31, 2012

Loyalty is the practice of being loyal.  The meaning of loyal, according to Webster’s is: faithful to a cause, ideal, custom, institution, or product .  Pretty straight forward, right?

In the past few years I have noticed the decline of the act of being loyal.  If you don’t like your phone carrier, then switch to another carrier.  The same goes to the cable provider.  This thought process can be applied to almost everything we meet in our daily lives.  If you don’t like something or the way someone provides a service for you, then change it!  I know I have practiced this myself, so I am not pointing fingers at anyone.

Last week I watched, once more, Tom Hank’s movie,  Larry Crowne, http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1583420/  It is about a man who is ‘downsized’ and goes back to school.  Wonderful movie.  It portrays what, unfortunately, is happening in all sectors of industry and employment.  I have seen it happen in my family.  My daughter was quick to quote, “Last one hired, first one fired,” like this was a just reason for her being downsized.  Companies buy out other companies and with a fell swoop clean out offices of people who are not needed.  It’s  just the way things work out.  Never mind that most of the people in those cleared out offices have been there for years.  They have rearranged lives to stay (here it goes) loyal to their employers.

Yesterday my dear hubby and I got into a protracted conversation about the art of loyalty.  Yes, I did pull out my soapbox and was loudly proclaiming my ideas to him.  I also confess that several of my comments did not land on the side of loyalty.

My dear hubby, always the rock, remained steadfast in his belief, that one should stay loyal no matter the cost.  I questioned him, and demanded a straight answer.  I did not expect to hear what I did.  He replied, “If I do not stay loyal and do not teach loyalty, how will those younger ever learn?”    Yep, that thud you heard in the distance yesterday was yours truly falling off her soapbox.

This is just one of the many reasons I love my husband.  Despite all those bumps and frustrating habits he has,  there is a streak that runs deep.  It is his steadfastness, his integrity and his loyalty.

This is a dying art.  I am hoping to learn how to resurrect it in my life.

Thanks for stopping by.  DAF

2 responses to “The Lost Art of Loyalty

  1. I guess there are different levels of loyalty. I think changing phone companies to get a better deal or better customer service is pretty much a given in this day and age and I don’t really see it as a loyalty issue. But other things like going to the Mom & Pop store on the corner whenever you can as opposed to the mega-chains should be happening more often. Loyalty on the job front is a whole other ball of wax though isn’t it? The hubs stayed loyal to the company he worked for several years… right up until he worked himself right out of a job. Which is one of the reasons we are living life on the road now. The lost art of loyalty… certainly something to ponder. Thanks for the great post 🙂

  2. Totally agree on the better rates/deals, that is just smart living, also agree with the Mom/Pop ideas. I am all for buying local, we have always tried to keep money in our local economy. I thought of you when I was posting this,in fact. Our son in law waited for a long time before getting married (and of course because he hadn’t truly met our daughter), but he always said he wanted to be able to support a wife. Three weeks after they got married he found out the company he had worked for for years (over a decade) was bought out and he was in one of those offices that were cleared out. It just seems unfair, doesn’t it? Anyhow, thanks for commenting, I always appreciate your input! DAF

Let me know what you think!

