dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Uhh, check…

on May 6, 2012

I confess, I am a list maker.  I make lists and then make lists for the lists.  It is a compulsion.  I cannot control myself.  I love writing down all that needs to be done.  I don’t really enjoy writing down all that needs to be bought.  I absolutely love to take my pen and cross off things accomplished or purchased, though.  It is a wonderful high for me.  To see a long list and then watch as the scribbles and lines go through each item.  What could be better for me?

I had been better about my addiction to lists lately.  I would only make them to go grocery shopping.  Those would be scratched out on the back of an envelope of a corner of  piece of paper.  Short lists, bread, milk, veggies, fruit.  Simple enough, most of the time they would be written, stuffed into my pocket and off I would go, never really referring to them after shoving them into my pocket.

This week I fell off the wagon.  I had a bout of sleeplessness at the beginning of the week.  My mind would not shut off.  I gave up around 3:30 a.m. and headed downstairs.  I grabbed a piece of scrap paper, and started writing.  Two columns, one ‘To Do’ and the other column, ‘To Buy’.  Fifteen minutes later I head back to bed, sighing that now my brain was clear and I could potentially sleep.  After crawling under the covers and adjusting my pillow, I close my eyes waiting to drift off to dreamland.  No such luck!  Marching in formation round two (or was it five by this time?) of list making proceeds into my conscienceness.  RATS!!!  What do I do?  I mentally form a list, complete with columns, and commit it to memory.  I eventually do fall asleep and forget about my battle of the lists.

Waking up the next day I hope the list I made during the night is not full of garbage.  To my relief it is not.  I then retrieve from memory what the second list stomped into my brain and place that on the list.  Smiling to myself, I feel I have already accomplished much.

I have made the lists to prepare to travel to D.C. for my daughter’s baby shower.  The to do part is what needs to be accomplished here at the house before I leave.  For some reason I love to make sure the house is spotless before I go on any trip.  In the back of my mind I know this is in case something should happen to me en route.  I would hate to have my family come in after my sudden and unexpected demise and find the laundry not done, or dust on my pictures.  I know, morbid thought, but what can I say?

The other part of the lists to do is a reminder of what I need to finish for the shower, this is the fun part.  Finish the favors (almost started and done…), organize snacks for trip (read:get goodies to stave off starvation between stops at fast food places), make sure decorations for shower are all in one place so nothing is forgotten (done, err, check!).

The to buy list is accomplished except for two items I cannot get until I am in D.C.. That part of the list was fun.  Nothing like shopping for a baby, especially this one.

So, now you have my confession of my addiction.  I know after this week/weekend I will start another list of what else I can do in preparation for the baby’s birth in July.  There will be more gifts to buy and more things to do before I travel up to be there for his arrival.  One thing I do know, when the list for July is completed my arms will be busy holding him.  I won’t have room for a piece of paper and pen, I will be much too busy cataloging his eyes, his fingers and his face, this will be an ongoing catalog, for it will change with each day he is alive.

So, I will close for now and try to cross off at least a half-dozen more things that are calling to me on my list(s).  Yes, I did make a list for my list this time.  I’m hopeless!

As always, DAF

7 responses to “Uhh, check…

  1. I will admit there is a wonderful sense of relief from crossing tasks off a list..and I also clean myself before I leave on a trip, but it’s because I don’t usually want to do anything when I come home.

  2. Oh, I am neurotic enough that once I am home I will immediately start in with laundry and straightening up all over again… I need to be velcroed to a chair every once in a while!

  3. Coming East says:

    My husband is a list-maker, too, so I know what kind of person you are! He has tried to get me to make lists, but it is so foreign to me that, even when I do manage to make a list, I forget that I made one or I forget where I put it. I do make grocery lists, though, and I do usually remember to bring them to the store with me and follow them.

  4. I even brought my lists to work with me so that if I get a quiet moment I can edit or add as I think of things. I am hopeless…

  5. Coming East says:

    Wow! You are totally hopeless, DAF. You and my husband would get along famously! LOL

  6. That’s funny… I was doing fairly well with my lists as well. Until last week that is. Moved yet again and there’s always a list or two… or ten than go along with that! Safe travels on your trip for the shower! I’m so happy for your family. What a special time indeed! 🙂

  7. Not a list maker myself, but I think I’m going to need to become one. Middle age is playing mayhem with my short term memory.

Let me know what you think!

