dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k

on April 11, 2012

Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k.

This sounds like something I want to accomplish.  I saw this yesterday morning and it sparked a desire in me to go for it!

I have run in the past and although this old body no longer can run consistently, I have a runners heart.  I see people running along the road and I want to be right beside them.

I have toyed with the idea of getting into running again, but just haven’t taken that first step.  Maybe this will be the incentive I need.  Every journey begins with a single step I have read, and instead of walking, maybe I need to just speed it up a bit!

So, with this feeling welling up inside me, I have reposted this notice and will set about going for a 5k.  I may walk, and I may even jog a few steps, knowing me I may end up crawling, but it’s an adventure and I am up for one, how about you?

2 responses to “Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k

  1. Good for you! That’s a great idea. I wish I liked to run. I should probably rephrase that… lol. I wish I were able to run. I “trained” once a few years back to run in a 5 k Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving morning with my sister (who is 7 years younger than me). It was a nightmare.

    The event was great fun and we had a blast… well except for the running part. I managed to actually run about half of the distance and power walk (which I love, and try and get in a 2.5 mile walk a few times a week) the rest. I thinks it’s the combination of being top-heavy and uncoordinated that does me in. Well, that and the fear of falling and breaking a hip at this age!

    But I do wish I could experience the “runner’s high” just once. It must be amazing to push through the pain and exhaustion and experience the euphoria. Good luck and have fun with it! 🙂

  2. I used to run so much. Now, I walk alot! I figured I would try. Thanks for commenting. Made me smile. Hope you are having a wonderful day today, you newlywed!!

Let me know what you think!

