dearanonymousfriend

Ramblings from a would be writer

In the Midst of Winter… January 24, 2014

Filed under: Winter — dearanonymousfriend @ 1:23 pm
Tags: , ,

I have skirted around winter topics all month-long.  One thing I have thought of and was hesitant to write about is the winter of our lives.

As I read several blogs today they talked about God’s perfect plan for our lives, about enduring through trials, about hope and trust in God.  I was encouraged by the words I read.

I have felt like the past few years of my life have been winter.  That season where calamities strike dramatically.  Pipes freeze, cars won’t start, sidewalks and driveways ice over and you fall.   Also icicles form, fall, sometimes breaking windows or shattering things underneath them.  Things happen in winter (and other seasons also).   The things that happen in winter seem more severe, maybe because of the cold.

The past few years have felt like this for me.  I have noticed my age and stage in life more.  I have often said, “this is not where I expected to be”.  At times, I have withdrawn, shielding myself from talking about the reality of where we are.  Other times I have been bold and known without a shadow of a doubt that I serve a God who is in control and loves us.   Both are extremes and are not where I am most days.

Winter is a time where things go dormant.  There is a quietness and a stillness that pervades the world around us.  Leaves fall, snow falls, and both give a blanket and covering of the earth.  Growth happens in winter.   Growth that bursts forth with new life and new color and new softness.

I asked the Lord to give me a word for this year.  Not a task or a job or anything difficult.  I asked for a word to hold on to.  My word?  Hope.   I am learning hope this year.  It is a word filled with anticipation and I am hopeful that this winter of my life ends soon.  That soon I will see the blossoms of spring in my life, that this feeling of age and weariness will be replaced with the newness and the beauty of fresh life that comes each spring.

I know that this winter time of my life is producing growth.  I just can’t see it. I know that things are happening and not happening in accordance to a loving God who is watching over me.   I know this to be truth.   I have yet to see the buds of new life poking through the cold hard ground.   It takes faith and endurance for a crocus to be one of the first flowers of spring.  I hope I learn a lesson from that sweet flower and that I will emerge from this winter as lovely and fragrant.

Day by day the Lord takes care of the innocent,  and they will receive an inheritance that lasts forever. They will not be disgraced in hard times;   even in famine they will have more than enough. (Psalm 37:18-19, New Living Translation) 

Thanks for stopping by today, DAF

 

24 Responses to “In the Midst of Winter…”

  1. limbiley Says:

    Amen to that.
    You are not alone in this,I like the way you put it “this winter time of my life is producing growth” like that.
    In the midst of pain are giants born.

  2. Susie Says:

    Add these words to some of the best you’ve ever written. My heart walks along side and feels the weight of your burdens. I love you my friend. Hope. It’s our mainstay. It is what keeps our spirits thankful and looking forward.

  3. Well said, D.A.F. Something I like to hold on to is that every season has its beginning, its middle and eventually its end. I’m hoping for you this “season” is at its end very soon.

  4. thank you dear friend. You have been the encouragement to me in some of the darkest times. Thank you.

  5. thank you Homestead! That is my hope too.

  6. Janelle Says:

    I love your word. Hope keeps me going.

  7. I am so glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for visiting, I do love your visits.

  8. I receive daily emails from a group called The Glasgow Prophetic Centre. I am constantly astounded at their words. Recently, after I have posted something I receive an email within the next day or so that ‘confirms’ what I have written or been thinking about.
    After reading your post I checked back on my saved emails and here is one that is so apt to what your post is about.

    New hope and purpose
    Every generation is important to the Lord. There is no ‘forgotten generation’. For the Spirit of the Lord says, ‘I am calling even the older generations into a time of awakening. If you believe in your hearts that I still have a plan and a purpose for your life then I will begin to reveal it to you.

    You are precious in my sight. You carry so much knowledge, wisdom and discernment. If you are ready to give up or not come forward; or you say, with doubt in your heart, ‘Who am I ? What use am I?’, then how will others know and learn about My ways? Do not cry out like Job, ‘What strength do I have, that I should hope? And what is my end, that I should prolong my life?’

    Do not say in your heart, ‘…but I am old’. Age in My Kingdom does not get looked upon as disqualification. It is looked upon as a precious gem, made stronger and more beautiful with time.

    Awaken, My Mothers and Fathers in the Kingdom, for you are needed and required this day! Shake off the dust of oppression and worthlessness, for you are more precious to Me than you could ever imagine!

    I am calling some of you still to be teachers: you carry so much that needs to be released to empower, build up and encourage the generations.

    I am calling you to once again to rely on My strength. Let me fill you with new hope and purpose, for I still have plans for you to fulfill!

    Psalm 92:14
    They will still yield fruit in old age; They shall be full of sap and very green

  9. Oh Scottishmomus, your words were so encouraging, thank you for finding this and sending it along to me. I truly needed to see this and read this today. What a blessing you are.

  10. I’m glad. If you want you can subscribe to the Centre and receive daily emails. I love them.

    http://glasgow-prophetic-centre.us2.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=02eab190ad3160c85e23ca185&id=0c23fded49

    Every day is a wonder with them. God bless. x

  11. diannegray Says:

    Absolutely beautiful words xxxx

  12. Thank you, I will check them out. I really appreciate this!

  13. Thank you Dianne, I appreciate you.

  14. So beautifully written. Without winter we wouldnt long for the abundance of spring, we would take it all for granted. Maybe winter gives us time to take stock? I have always hated winter, but now I can see the beauty in each season, and the importance they all play.

  15. Beautiful! And congrats on being featured this week through Suzie81!!

  16. Thank you so much for your kind remarks. I am so glad you were able to visit my blog. I hope you visit again.

  17. Thank you! I am so honored for this! My laptop died… so this is the first I have been able to check in on my blog!

  18. This is the best essay, so far, you’ve ever written…it’s amazing…it’s one you can reblog over and over again. I love the paragraph on hope…it’s very hard to have it…to be vigilant when nothing changes…beautiful writing DAF. So happy I came a callin’.

  19. Thank you! I have missed you! I think my laptop is on the mend! Yay!

  20. It must have needed a holiday. I always think there’s a person in there wheeling and dealing.

  21. There’s some type of being in there…that’s all I know :)


Let me know what you think!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 202 other followers